Skip to content

Family, friends and a good government

May 19, 2011

It’s that time of year. The time when nine million pieces of paper start coming home from school in anticipation that the school year will one day — some say alarmingly quickly (me), some say agonizingly slowly (AJ) — come to an end. The best part about the end of the year is seeing all these pieces of paper. Here is a favorite that came home today but was written shortly before Thanksgiving:

Things I’m Thankful For

Thanksgiving reminds me of all the things I’m thankful for. I appreciate my family, my friends, and a good government.

I’m especially thankful for my family because they have kept me safe for almost 10 years. They have also fed me, sheltered me, and helped with my work. I would be lonely without them.

I also appreciate my friends because they are (usually) nice. They are funny, too, and I also have someone to play with because I’m an only child. Playing with my friends can also pass time.

Finally, I’m grateful for a good government because I think that a president is a lot better than a king. There are more reasonable laws, and there is a great thing – a free country!

As I enjoy this holiday season, I realize that I have many reasons to be thankful. My family, my friends and a good government are important to me.

Apparently someone’s been paying attention to his civics lessons.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lass permalink
    May 20, 2011 8:33 am

    Hee! The part that killed me was “They have also fed me, sheltered me, and helped me with my work.” I assume he is referring to homework but the phrasing cracked me up. “Mother, Father…I need you in the lab!”

  2. May 20, 2011 10:36 am

    I wouldn’t put it past him. Although the part that cracked me up was his putting his love for good government on a par with friends and family. If he ever runs for office, you know this is getting leaked to the media.

  3. freshhell permalink
    May 20, 2011 10:41 am

    That’s why you keep these papers: blackmail.

Leave a Reply

