Skip to content

30 Days of Songs: Day 2

May 24, 2011

day 02 – your least favorite song: The Hooters: And We Danced

There are so many reasons to dislike a song. It might be because you don’t like something about the sound. Most songs with auto-tune fall into this category for me. I just don’t like the sound of it most of the time. Also in this category: most teeny-bopper pop music and a lot (but not all) of Lady Gaga (although I just did spend a whopping 99 cents for her new album yesterday). There are some whose lyrics disturb me, although there aren’t too many, because I am often all but oblivious to lyrics. The ones I hate the most, though, are ones that remind me of parts of my life I am not anxious to relive. I often block those songs out of my memory completely, but sometimes they’ll sneak up on you when you’re standing in line at the pharmacy or picking out ice cream in the frozen foods section of the grocery store. And the song will come on and you will walk out with nothing but a pint of chocolate, all for yourself.

There is one song I can think of that gets at all these categories for me. I don’t like the sound. I don’t like the lyrics – not because they’re offensive (although I’m not wild about the name of the band), but because they are stupid. And it reminds me of someone I would just as soon not be reminded of. Ladies and Gentlemen, I give you The Hooters’ “And We Danced.”

Ugh, even the title is stupid. Why start with “and?” Yes, they use some of the acoustic instruments I was waxing rapturous about in my last post, but they do not use them well. And any song that begins “She was a bebop baby on a hard day’s night” has lost me immediately. Note: I didn’t actually watch this video before posting it here. I don’t recommend it to you either. Although I do know plenty of people who actually like this song. I lived in Philadelphia, where the Hooters are from, in the late ’80s. Speaking ill of the Hooters was akin to blasphemy.

But really, this song is not deserving of hatred. It’s just a waste of my time and eardrums. That’s true of most of the songs I don’t like.

What about you?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    May 24, 2011 7:38 am

    There are way too many to list.

  2. May 24, 2011 8:02 am

    I grew up in a place where there was a lot of whiny, old-style country-western on the radio, so I’ve never liked it. Like you, I never liked the nasal singing with bluegrass, but also like you, I’ve developed a bit of appreciation for bluegrass in the last few years, now that I’m no longer deluged by it.

  3. Smed permalink
    May 24, 2011 8:11 am

    I do like this but it hits my high school MTV sweet spot. And the band name was because that one guy played that keyboard thing you blew into. I’d rather have a keytar like the Producers, though.

  4. May 24, 2011 10:02 am

    Anything by Dave Matthews, but especially Ants Go Marching. My freshman & sophomore roommate had a bizarre tendency to listen to or watch things he liked over and over again. (Our cable didn’t work the first week of sophomore year, and he watched “She’s All That” on repeat about 30 times that week. I can practically recite “She’s All That.”) My freshman year, he listened to Ants Go Marching every day, several times a day, singing along and drumming on his desk. I shudder to even think about it.

  5. May 24, 2011 10:03 am

    I always intentionally confuse The Hooters with The Outfield. Drives the Wife crazy. Weren’t they the same band?

  6. May 24, 2011 10:30 am

    freshhell, lucky there are also lots of good ones to make up for it. Jeanne, I had the same problem. I’ve actually always liked the songs, but never the singing. I also used to hate steel guitar, but I’ve come around to that too. But now I listen to a lot of bluegrass and even some country. It’s a matter of finding the right singers. If you’re interested in trying some more country without the annoying voice, you might like Julie Miller. I know I do. Smed, I believe the wind keyboard is called a melodica. Dave, I’m right there with you on Dave Matthews. I have a high tolerance for the Ants because AJ used to love it so much and it made him giggle. But that sounds like a poor quality in a roommate. Also, I am sure my college roommate felt the same way about me. Fortunately for all, I only had a roommate for one year. Hugh, I agree completely about the Hooters and the Outfield. The Outfield were Brits, though, weren’t they?

  7. May 24, 2011 7:11 pm

    For me, all of the songs I truly hate are modern holiday tunes. Feliz Navidad, Hard Candy Christmas, Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer, etc.

    Many years ago I even waxed anti-rhapsodic about how much I hated two specific holiday tunes: http://www.writingortyping.com/C1393068736/E940234370/index.html

    But if I were going to pick a non-holiday hit song to hate on, it would probably be Marc Cohn’s True Companion, because it is so insanely creepy if you really listen to the lyrics. I always imagined he was singing to some woman he had tied to a chair in his basement.

  8. May 24, 2011 8:36 pm

    Ha! I just snorted water through my nose, Jill. I actually have that CD around here somewhere, and I know exactly what you mean! I’m not sure why I still have the album, come to think of it. The only thing I ever listened to was Walking in Memphis.

  9. smed permalink
    May 24, 2011 10:51 pm

    Yes, the Outfield were Brits. They had a huge drum sound (totally against the grain of the electro drum craze) and had a few good riffs on their first album but in the end were forgettable. The Hooters second album had a good tune in “Satellite” but really were done after #1. Oh, and the two main dudes in the Hooters wrote songs for Cindy Lauper, as did Philly’s own Robert Hazard (he wrote “Girls Just Want To Have Fun”) who had a good tune in “Escalator Of Life”.

    Ok, it was good in a cheesy way.

    The Philly band I really liked was Tommy Conwell and the Young Rumblers. My college radio station had their locally produced album that kicked serious tail. The major label release neutered their song “I’m Not Your Man” by putting on an unneeded intro and making the guitars flaccid.

    And that’s all I got.

    Oh, the song I hate – “Making Love Out Of Nothing At All” by Air Supply. Holy overwrought, Batman!

  10. lemming permalink
    May 25, 2011 8:25 am

    See, I love this song. I think it’s wonderful, happy, Friday night fluff and the whole bit with the hooter type instrument makes it all the more quirky wonderful for me. I can see that I need to jump into this meme. P.S. The Hooters had much better videos than the Outfield.

Leave a Reply

