Skip to content

Sign

June 5, 2011

Today’s 30 Days of Songs post precedes this one, but since Cee-Lo Green’s “Fuck You” has come up a couple of times already, I had to post this video shared by my friend H. This is the final project for a sign language class and it’s fantastic. I love the way the sign turns almost into choreography — it’s part acting, part dance, all communication. I’ve always been interested in ways to communicate the idea of music to people who can’t hear it. Her rhythmic performance makes a convincing case for silent sound. But that said, you’re going to want to turn up the volume on this one.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2011 3:44 pm

    loved it
    glad the kids weren’t home

  2. June 6, 2011 8:41 am

    I have seen that crop up so many times on Fb – glad I was home today to finally see it. I know that signing to a song is often a final project for sign language classes (had to work my way back from being thoroughly sick of Simon & Garfunkel’s “Sounds of Silence” in college after my roommate used it for her final).

    I’m also fascinated by the decisions she made in alternating hands and (I think) using different signs for the same words. The use of one hand for “fuck you” and the other “and fuck her too” was inspired. It made the whole thing much more dance-like. I also loved the sort of nervous jittering she was doing on her feet and how she snapped so securely into performance mode, clearly enjoying herself.

  3. June 6, 2011 8:48 am

    I was also impressed with how she stayed in character almost all the way through. And I found myself totally charmed when she did finally crack a smile.

  4. June 6, 2011 10:45 am

    Seriously. And the other students’ cheering just brought a huge smile to my face.

  5. June 6, 2011 10:48 am

    Oh – and the rising hand to indicate the successively higher tones in “oo oo oo” is super too…

Leave a Reply

