Skip to content

Creativity

June 20, 2011

I came across this video of 29 ways to stay creative this morning: http://vimeo.com/24302498

It struck me as a good list, but maybe that’s just because most of my own techniques are included. In fact, a lot of these suggestions are things I’ve implemented within the last year and are things that have, I think, jumpstarted a number of stalled out projects. A couple of these are things I watch for. If, for example, I stop listening to new music for a while, I know that my work is probably stalled too. The video is short and nicely animated, but in case you don’t feel like checking it out, here’s the list:

1. make lists
2. carry a notebook everywhere
3. try free writing
4. get away from the computer
5. stop beating yourself up
6. take breaks
7. sing in the shower
8. drink coffee
9. listen to new music
10. be open
11. surround yourself with creative people
12. get feedback
13. collaborate
14. don’t give up
15. practice, practice, practice
16. allow yourself to make mistakes
17. go somewhere new
18. count your blessings
19. get lots of rest
20. take risks
21. break rules
22. don’t force it
23. read a page of the dictionary
24. create a framework
25. stop trying to be someone else’s perfect
26. got an idea? write it down.
27. clean your workspace [I’m working on that right now!]
28. have fun
29. finish something

What are your techniques for creative work/life?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    June 20, 2011 11:35 am

    I do all of these. Except maybe #23. Haven’t done that in awhile. #4 is hard because that’s where most of the magic happens. 🙂 But I do have a notebook and a pen at all times. I have lots of scraps with bits of thoughts on them. They will soon get coralled in the computer. I think food should be somewhere on this list. Try new things in general.

  2. June 20, 2011 11:39 am

    I agree about food — maybe with sleep. I also think that changing your workspace should be on there. It’s funny you mention 23, because that’s the one that was singled out on the twitter feed where I saw this linked — the OED.

  3. June 20, 2011 1:16 pm

    part of thinking in different ways, for me, is reading lots of different kinds of books. Maybe that’s a little like listening to new music?

Leave a Reply

