Skip to content

30 songs in (almost) 30 days: day 25

June 22, 2011

day 25 – a song that makes you laugh: Hugh Laurie: “Mystery”

This was a tough one. There are so many. There’s this classic by Steve Martin:

Then there’s this parody of Bob Dylan, my favorite moment from Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story

I really wanted to use a song by Jonathan Richman. I thought of this one:

But this one is my very favorite:

And really, neither of them makes me laugh, although both make me smile.

The only song I could think of that makes me laugh out loud every time I listen to it is this one:

Hugh Laurie’s deadpan delivery kills me. The rhymes are so crazy. And the lounge piano, well, that’s just funny all by itself.

Funny is good today. There are a lot of stressed out people in my house, myself included. Change is hard. No change is hard too. Heads or tails?

What songs make you laugh?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2011 1:59 pm

    Love the rhyme with estuary.
    My daughter and I were driving home a while ago and she played me the Assassin’s Song from the musical Blondel, which makes us laugh every time we hear it. He keeps spelling the word “Assassin” and King John keeps misunderstanding what kind of service he’s offering.

  2. Cranky permalink
    June 22, 2011 2:16 pm

    I love that Hugh Laurie song. Apparently it first appeared in a different form in A Bit of Fry and Laurie. I want to try to find some of his other songs.

  3. June 22, 2011 2:23 pm

    Estuary is definitely the best part. I’ve never heard of Blondel. I’ll have to look for that. Cranky, I actually prefer that version, which I’m pretty sure I’ve seen on youtube as well, but I couldn’t lay my hands on it fast enough.

  4. freshhell permalink
    June 22, 2011 2:41 pm

    Those are good ones. I love the song Bowie sings on Ricky Gervais’s Extras: http://youtu.be/jv6mEv_rDdE

  5. Cranky permalink
    June 22, 2011 2:42 pm

    I just listened to it and prefer it also–especially the Sammy Davis Jr action. I like insanItary and JanUary also.

  6. Harriet's Mom permalink
    June 22, 2011 4:26 pm

    Tom Lehrer – too many songs to mention by name.

  7. June 23, 2011 9:59 am

    That’s a classic. Julia and I saw this on the first episode of A Bit of Fry & Laurie…I think it was the only part of the show that she laughed at. I think estuary is my favorite of the rhymes, but 1973 is pretty good too.

  8. June 23, 2011 10:05 am

    Mom, for some reason I didn’t even think of Tom Lehrer. I think it’s because I tend to listen to his songs by topic as comedy. The songs above are all things that might turn up on my iPod because they mix well. I should also have mentioned “Foux de Fafa” from Flight of the Conchords, which I giggle to regularly. You can find that here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EuXdhow3uqQ

    And the better version of “Mystery,” the one from “A Bit of Fry and Laurie,” is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__DrJI7mTHQ

Leave a Reply

