Skip to content

Midsummer

June 28, 2011

I’ve been working on my last post for 30 days of songs, but have been having trouble extricating myself from the current dramas of my life in order to finish it. The last two days have brought a whirlwind of realtors and meetings and discussions around here of what we’re going to do and how we’re going to do it. There’s still a lot to do. But in the next couple of days some decisions should be made.

The good news we’re getting from realtors is that our house isn’t terrible. In fact, they seem to think it’s better than we do. I suppose the other good news is that they’ve told us to list at about what we expected. So I guess we did our homework. The bad (although not surprising) news, though, is that it’s less than we paid for it, particularly painful considering the amount of money we’ve spent repairing things. But that’s the way it goes these days. The other bad news is that it is probable that we will not sell very fast. Our idea of all being in NY before school starts is probably a pipe dream. But who knows. We could get lucky. We’ve been lucky before. In fact, the last few weeks have been among the luckiest of my life.

But what this all means that if I take this job I will probably be commuting from Chicago, possibly for quite a while. Can we make this work? Will Mr. Spy be miserable? Will AJ be able to handle the craziness for a while? I know that people do this all the time. I just didn’t think it would be us.

Also, in that perverse way that we humans go about things, now that we’re looking at maybe getting rid of this place, we’re starting to appreciate it more. The yard seemed extra beautiful today. Maybe it was the realtors saying nice things, but all of a sudden all the things that bother us about the house didn’t seem so bad.

It was a gorgeous day here. When I got home from teaching a private lesson tonight, the house was empty. I checked my phone first and found a message from the drum teacher at Studio 2. He and a cabaret singer friend of his are putting together a French-influenced cabaret show and are looking for some Stephane Grappelli for their Django Reinhardt. Sounds like fun, but it’s not an idiom I’ve tried before and is likely to be time consuming. How much time do I have?

Then I found a note on the counter from Mr. Spy asking me to pick up AJ from a nearby park. Mr. Spy was called up to fill in for someone on a local softball team. When I got there, half the town was hanging around the fields. There were several games going and we knew almost everyone. AJ was running around with his friends, playing catch (they’d all brought their gloves) and hanging out on the playground while the moms chatted and the dads ran around the ball field. We lingered through the first half of Mr. Spy’s game before AJ started looking sleeping, and then we came home to bed. Now I’m sitting on my bed with all the windows open, listening to an owl somewhere in the woods and the rushing of the stream behind the house. I’m trying to savor it all while I have the chance.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    June 29, 2011 7:51 am

    All very exciting! My first house I still miss terribly even though it was too small for a (future) family of four and the neighbors were annoying. The second house….was simply a mistake. I do hope you are able to sell your house quickly so everyone can move at once and settle in. Should be an interesting summer. 🙂

  2. June 29, 2011 8:37 am

    When we moved from Maryland, I missed it so much, and that was aggravated by problems with the first house we rented. I’m a big believer in where you live makes a difference.

  3. June 29, 2011 1:58 pm

    That is all going to be hard to give up. On the other hand, it’s nice to be leaving feeling you’ve made the most of where you were. Commuting from Chicago does not sound so easy — but maybe it will not be for terribly long . . .

  4. June 29, 2011 3:27 pm

    I’d suggest saying no to all other activities for a while. This is all too stressful to be adding time crunching into it too much.

    Will they survive w/o you? They’ll be miserable, but they’ll appreciate you so much more when you’re back together that it’ll be worth it. Will send all house selling energy your way.

Leave a Reply

