Skip to content

Off the dole

June 30, 2011

I am officially employed. I start in an alarming 3 weeks. I’ll be living here for a while, though. I’ll be commuting 3 days a week. The other details are still a little fuzzy in my mind. I kind of can’t believe this is all happening. I’m about to get up close and personal with O’Hare airport. Any advice for me, Mr. Unfocused?

That’s pretty much all I’ve got today. I can’t think about much else. Trying to decide whether to celebrate or hit myself over the head with a hammer.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    June 30, 2011 1:12 pm

    Celebrate.

  2. June 30, 2011 1:12 pm

    Celebrate! The only sad thing about this is that I’m afraid you’ll have less time for blogging and playing on FB.

  3. June 30, 2011 1:50 pm

    Celebrate, totally. You have a position in a field that you love that allows you to travel. That is awesome.

  4. June 30, 2011 3:11 pm

    Maybe, Jeanne, but I’ll be spending a lot of time in airports.

  5. June 30, 2011 3:33 pm

    *grin*

  6. eleanorio permalink
    June 30, 2011 5:18 pm

    Totally celebrate. Congratulations!

  7. July 1, 2011 1:53 am

    Hitting yourself with the hammer might very well make all the other things you have to do now (get the house sold, sort out the menfolk, find a new place to live) seem easier and more pleasant. (Just a thought).

    Remember — if you miss fields, ABF is but a hop, skip and jump from NYC.

    IWOM

  8. July 1, 2011 6:52 am

    Thanks everybody! iwom, that was my thought exactly about the hammer. And one of the things I’m looking forward to about being back on the east coast is that hopefully I’ll get to see you next time you’re across the pond!

  9. July 1, 2011 7:36 am

    It’s a date. Panda Garden if you have the time!

  10. July 1, 2011 8:15 am

    Congrats – I am excited for you!

  11. July 1, 2011 8:32 am

    Whoo Hoo!

    Guess what? I”m officially employed too! (Only 2 days a week, but it gets me in the door after 10 years off)

  12. July 1, 2011 8:43 am

    Hooray! Congratulations MKM! That’s great news!

  13. Cranky permalink
    July 1, 2011 9:51 am

    I am really excited for you and for myself.

  14. July 1, 2011 10:22 am

    Congratulations!!!!!

  15. July 1, 2011 12:30 pm

    Yeah! You could celebrate by getting hammered…?

  16. July 2, 2011 4:53 pm

    Congratulations! That’s exciting news and hooray for company-paid health insurance!

  17. July 3, 2011 9:11 am

    A. Belated congratulations! and

    2. Pick an airline and stick with it. Unless you’re looking to make your travel experience even worse, you’ll be flying out of O’Hare instead of hauling another 45 minutes to Midway, so that means United or American. Pick one or the other, and use it as often as possible so you get some kind of status soon — you definitely get treated better, even if the upgrades are few and far between. If you’re taking the same flights every week, get to know the gate agents & crew a little — they will start to remember you. If you pick American, at O’Hare try the security line at the far right (as you’re facing the ticket counters) of the terminal. For United, try the one on the far left (no, farther – it feels like you’re heading into another part of the airport – there you are!). The American terminal at LaGuardia is meh, but that shouldn’t determine your choice. All of LGA is meh.

    Gamma. Also, noise cancelling headphones.

    D. Don’t be afraid to fly into Newark if it’s cheaper or a better schedule. The shuttles to Midtown are cheap & frequent.

    5. Kindle app or actual Kindle.

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

