Skip to content

Checking it twice

July 1, 2011

My head is now a place of absurd lists: dissertation-finishing lists, house-selling lists, moving lists, packing lists, lists of people I need to call. Yesterday I emailed Cranky this question:

How do you get a driver’s license in NY if you don’t have a car?

Because it was essential that I investigate this problem immediately, rather than worry about, say, finishing my dissertation or getting my house on the market or quitting my current jobs, or even figuring out what’s for dinner. It’s important to do things in the right order.

My advisor emailed congratulations from Europe. In German. Actually, in a Viennese dialect (this is an inside joke, because by dissertation begins in Vienna). At least, I think they are congratulations. Could my life be any nerdier? No, it could not.

I realized last night that commuting to NY once a week will actually take less transit time than I spent teaching on my university’s campus two days a week. That calmed me down a little. Thinking about travel expenses was less calming, but it is still cheaper than holding down two residences, I think, and we should still come out ahead of where we are now (I am very much looking forward to writing my last health insurance check next week). But we’re still considering our options. It’s nice to have a choice and some time to think.

I went to my first water aerobics class of the summer. Because this is the world’s smallest small town, they already knew we were thinking of moving. But I can’t think of a group of people I’d rather celebrate with. And now I have the house to myself for the rest of the day. Mr. Spy is interviewing someone and AJ is golfing with his uncle. Me? I’m getting back to writing. With luck, I’ll have a chapter done by the end of the day. If I can stop making lists.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2011 1:48 pm

    You don’t need a car: http://www.nydmv.state.ny.us/license.htm#driversmoving

  2. July 1, 2011 2:56 pm

    If you have a current license from another state, you just trade it in for your NYS license. Which is probably what Magpie said.

  3. July 2, 2011 8:52 am

    Why do I ever worry about anything? I’ve got the whole internet to help me out. Thanks! Now can you finish my dissertation? Anyone? Bueller?

Leave a Reply

