Skip to content

4

July 5, 2011

Yesterday, the weather was perfect, and it gave everyone in the Spy family a boost. Mr. Spy got up and, after his run, was still feeling energized, so he removed the wallpaper in one of the bathrooms, while I groggily cooked for the afternoon family party. Around noon, we packed up our bags and headed to his cousin’s house for the annual family 4th of July gathering, which is not quite as big as the Christmas party, but still pretty good sized. There are three engagements in the family since the last time. These are the children of Mr. Spy’s cousins. There have already been two weddings in that generation. One couple, the son of our host and his fiancee, are getting married in October. The other two couples are getting married next year. So there was a lot of talk of wedding dresses. This is how it goes with big families.

But mostly Mr. Spy and I were talking about my new job and our family’s imminent move. People were congratulatory but asking a lot of questions about safety of the schools and the expense of the area and all the usual things people ask about New York and the result was that we both came home feeling very anxious about everything. This is the way it goes — we move from confidence to panic at the drop of a hat. Today’s task list includes hiring a real estate agent to sell our house and telling my current employers (and at least some of my students) that I will be leaving. I’m not sure which way the arrow on the calm-o-meter is going to swing by the end of the day, but it will not be easy in any case. I’m going to miss teaching a great deal. I would feel better if I had a replacement to recommend, but I don’t know any violinists out here. I want to see my students end up in good hands. It’s been a great experience, this last year and a half of teaching. But now it’s on to the next adventure.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 7:56 am

    Just because not many people from the midwest are brave enough to move to NYC doesn’t mean that it won’t be a great adventure…

  2. eleanorio permalink
    July 5, 2011 10:48 am

    Think of all the millions who already live in New York and seem to manage quite well. You’ll be fine!

  3. July 5, 2011 11:09 am

    We moved from Kansas City to Boston and even though it’s not been without bumps, we are doing fine (job loss notwithstanding). We were surprised by some of the things we missed from KC, and equally surprised by what we love here. Miss E is correct, you will be fine.

  4. July 5, 2011 11:20 am

    Thanks for the votes of confidence. I really do think we’ll be fine, but every now and then I lose my nerve. I’ve moved 24 times in my life and my residences have covered multiple states and 2 continents. My husband can count his mailing addresses on his fingers and have plenty left over, and he’s never lived more than an hour from his family (our current location) — and that’s his extended family. I’m walking into a built-in network. He’s trying to move his freelance business, built up over two decades with only a handful of contacts in our new city. Ultimately, I really do think it will be good for all of us, or I wouldn’t be doing it. But it still feels like I’ve just leapt from a bridge.

  5. LSM permalink
    July 5, 2011 1:48 pm

    In many ways I was in Mr. Spy’s situation when we moved to our current location 14 years ago. While my husband was moving back to his hometown and family to take a great job, I was moving further away from my family and needed to find a job to replace one that was a perfect fit for me. Though I knew it was the right decision for our family, I remember crying as I loaded my boxes from my old job on the last day. The good news is that living here has been perfect for us, and I really did find a job that suited me even better and provided many unique opportunities that I would not have had if we’d stayed put.

    I know all that doesn’t really help with the feeling of jumping off the edge, but it sounds like you’re doing all you can to make sure the landing is a safe one!

  6. teranika permalink
    July 5, 2011 9:22 pm

    I’m still very curious to learn what the new job is!! A big congratulations to you all, and a big good luck to Mr. Spy. For someone not used to moving, it is certainly a big and exciting step. There is a huge scary fog that seems to surround New York for many people. But people not only manage, many of them love it! And I’m certain that you will excel!

Leave a Reply

