Skip to content

Blackout

July 12, 2011

After yesterday mornings storm, the damage for which suggests a small tornado plowed through the neighborhood, we have no power, no water, no landline phone and no cell phones either. We have three large trees down in the yard, all of which, thankfully, fell into the woods (although one took out a utility pole). We feel lucky after seeing our neighbors with an enormous oak tree on their roof. Everyone’s okay. Everyone’s grumpy. Everyone smells bad. Not one ComEd truck has been sighted anywhere in the area. The power’s been out for 24 hours and it looks like it will be at least another 24 before it goes back on. Last night we had a big barbecue and drank melted ice cream out of cups. Tonight we’ll have to eat out.

That’s the bad news. The good news is all the neighbors are outside talking to each other. The lifeguards kept the pool open a little late so AJ and I could clean off. Everyone’s comparing war stories. School of Rock had power, so I was able to teach last lessons with several of my students (I teach next week too, but a lot of my students are on vacation) and recharge my computer and (now useless) cell phone. The weather is supposed to be cooling down and becoming less humid. We may be able to open windows tonight. Last night we slept in the basement. Mr. Spy hauled buckets of water up from the spring in the back yard to flush the toilets. I’m bucking for a night in the tent on the lawn, but I have a feeling no one else will want to join me. I might just do it anyway.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cranky permalink
    July 12, 2011 8:34 am

    Glad that you’re all fine. Camping out sounds just right.

  2. July 12, 2011 9:00 am

    I am so sympathetic. This sounds just like what happened to us after Hurricane Ike made its way through Ohio. I really hope you’re not out of power for as long as we were then.

    The silver lining has got to be that you won’t miss times like these when you move!

  3. July 12, 2011 1:10 pm

    Ugh. all I can say

  4. freshhell permalink
    July 12, 2011 2:11 pm

    I know your pain quite well. I do hope they get the power on soon. We keep jugs of water on hand when the power goes out so we can flush toilets. Learned the hard way on that one. Never again. Sigh.

  5. July 13, 2011 8:04 am

    How’d the camp-out go? I hope all is back to normal soon.

Leave a Reply

