Skip to content

We all will be received in Graceland

July 17, 2011

When I was growing up in Connecticut, I always had this idea that I would move to New York and live in some small and seedy apartment in Greenwich Village and do artistic things. And it is appearing that 30 years later, I may finally be getting a chance to fulfill my childhood fantasies, except it’s a lot less seedy than it used to be. In fact, I can’t afford the rent. Fortunately, I don’t have to. After my first trip east, when I’m staying with Cranky, I’m going to be staying in a friend’s apartment in the Village. He used to live there, but since he moved in with his fiancée, he now only uses it on weekends as a painting studio. It’s the perfect location because a) It’s a totally reasonable walk to my office b) it’s a couple of blocks from a subway that stops a couple blocks from Cranky’s house and also, at a different stop, a couple of blocks from my office, for when the weather’s bad and c) it’s a 15-20 minute subway ride to the library where I do my research when I’m in NY, and d) there are about 9000 things to do close by. I need to come up with some kind of bed for the place — maybe an air mattress, maybe a futon. And maybe some dishes. But I won’t need much. I can’t deny that I’m loving the idea of having a small adventure by myself. I know I’ll miss AJ and Mr. Spy like crazy, but I’m hoping for something gained too. Like maybe some finished research and a defense date.

Finding a place to stay that’s more permanent than Cranky’s sofa is a big load off my mind. But there are still many things to worry about. How far ahead can I book my flights without missing a meeting? How am I going to get two laptops home on the plane? Will they even fit in my bag? And, of course, the continuing wardrobe saga. I did manage to plug a couple of holes today, but I’ve still got a way to go, especially if I’m now going to be working 5 days at a stretch instead of 3. One week from today I will be in NY and there is still so much to do. Right now the biggest worry: how am I going to survive without my guitar? Maybe I’ll need to buy a mandolin? It would take up less room, but possibly be more annoying to the neighbors. Speaking of which, I should finish restringing the new one and squeeze in a little practice time before the boys get home from baseball.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    July 18, 2011 9:24 am

    I think you will enjoy your time alone in the apt. That sounds so very exciting. And I know it will be stressful as you attempt to work in one place and run a family in another. But, i do hope things come together soon and you settle on a place to live and AJ’s enrolled in school, etc. Imagine all the time you’ll have – w/o distractions except those you create for yourself – to write and finish up that diss!

  2. July 18, 2011 4:31 pm

    Those aero bed things are great, and easy to pack up if your friend needs you to do that on the weekend.

    Why two laptops?

    Get a ukulele. And then teach me how to play it!

  3. July 18, 2011 7:49 pm

    I think it may be too late, magpie. I played a mando at work tonight and I’m already in love. A nice little Fender that I didn’t want to put down but had to. I think I’m borrowing an aero from Cranky. The two laptops are because I need my own to work on the diss on the plane ride out, but I’m getting one for one to take back with me. Hopefully in the future I’ll be able to make do with one and a thumb drive, but this time I don’t see a way around two, unless I bring a large amount of paper that would take up just as much space and would probably weigh more.

  4. July 19, 2011 9:39 am

    I use an SD card to store personal file when I need to do work on a non-personal computer. They hold a LOT plus if you have a digital camera, they work in the camera too.

    If you decide to go with a more permanent bed, there’s an Ikea in NJ which isn’t all that far from you. I love Ikea and it saved us when our place flooded and we had to replace almost all our furniture.

  5. Peti permalink
    July 19, 2011 8:02 pm

    Two things: 1) Will you email me the super secret password? 2) Adidas makes a backpack with a special laptop pocket. If you use that and the main compartment of the backpack, it’s possible to carry two laptops at once (and a few other things). Best of all, most airlines count the backpack as your “personal item,” meaning you can still lug a wheelie suitcase behind you. I’ve never had to bring 2 laptops with me, but I’ve done a lot with this suitcase combo and highly recommend it.

  6. July 19, 2011 8:06 pm

    Password is on its way. I’ll have a look for that bag. I have a laptop bag that I think will fit two, but I’m not entirely sure. But I’m not sure how much longer it will hold up — I’ve had it for quite a while. I do have a great wheelie suitcase, however. Essential.

  7. July 19, 2011 8:08 pm

    edj3, I never even considered an SD card. That’s a great idea. Part of the challenge is going to be that I work on a Mac but I think it’s most likely that the laptop I’m getting for work will be a PC. It may take me a while to figure out how to move things between both platforms.

Leave a Reply

