Skip to content

New Horizons in Music

July 24, 2011

My year of living dangerously travelling prolifically did not begin especially well. You’d think the 8 inches of rain we got yesterday would have been enough. But apparently the weather wasn’t done with us yet. Today’s battery of thunderstorms grounded most flights in and out of O’Hare this morning. We left three hours late.

However, it really could have been a lot worse. I’d taken a much earlier flight than I needed (because the later ones were sold out), so I had plenty of time to spare. And my fellow travelers were both friendly and entertaining and there was not a whiner among them. I spent much of the day chatting to a small group of women. One woman was traveling with her teenaged daughter to India to visit relatives. Another tiny woman, who looked to be about my mother’s age, lives near me in Illinois and has a husband who recently took a job in New York. She was giving me travel advice. A third woman had grown up in Cranky’s neighborhood in New York and was about to move to the town where Siren and I had lunch the other day. She was giving me advice about neighborhoods. And then there was the 25-year-old heading to Israel on a Birthright trip. The tiny woman’s daughter had gone a few years ago and the tiny woman was giving the younger woman advice. The younger woman was a little nervous about the travel as her flights had kept getting canceled and, she confessed, she had never before flown anywhere without her family. We all tried to reassure her, but she seemed to have the spirit of adventure to buoy her.

The delays meant I missed out on an afternoon with Baby J, but she was pretty entertaining for the time I got to see her. She’s changed so much in the few weeks since I was here last, walking and talking now. We read a book about the subway many times and there was a lot of tickling — I’d tickle her to make her laugh until she shrieked, then when I’d stop she’d try to tickle me so I’d tickle her some more. She’s also discovered that it’s really fun to hold onto the back of the sofa and jump up and down on the cushions. At least, it’s really fun uf you’re small enough to be able to do that without bending over. Cranky made a fabulous dinner for all of us and we had a nice visit and I was able to Skype AJ and read him a bedtime story. Skype is going to be an essential element of this new work thing.

And now, I am heading to bed, in hopes of being somewhat coherent in my morning for my first day of work. Nervous? Excited? All of the above? I’m too tired to think about it at the moment. I’ll let you know tomorrow.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2011 9:40 pm

    Oh, My. God. All the best wishes in the world. Hey, the stories you get from people in the airport might give you so much to blog about that you won’t have need for any content from your own life.

  2. July 24, 2011 9:52 pm

    You might be right about that. Also, I think I could do an entire blog about T-shirts spotted on Flatbush Avenue. Tonight’s gem: A bedazzled guy wearing a black T-shirt on which was emblazoned in large silver letters, “Who’s Flossin’?” I’m pretty sure it was a coincidence that he was standing near a dentist’s office.

  3. freshhell permalink
    July 25, 2011 8:23 am

    My t-shirt would have said, “Not me, bro!” If I am being honest. Hope your first day goes swimmingly! Tell Cranky and Baby J I said hi.

  4. July 25, 2011 9:10 am

    Lots of luck today!

  5. Jeanne permalink
    July 25, 2011 6:30 pm

    Sitting in the airport tonight hoping your tomorrow goes swimmingly

  6. July 27, 2011 5:27 am

    Would you mind sending me your PW? I so enjoy your blog.

    kittiesx3 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

