Skip to content

Bookless

July 28, 2011

So, imaginary friends, I accidentally opened one of my birthday presents early. No, not the ones the lovely Freshhell sent me to decorate my new office. She told me I was supposed to open them early. And they are wonderful. Thank you! But I had ordered something from Amazon and I came home yesterday and found a couple of Amazon boxes and opened the one I thought had what I’d ordered in it (a travel surge protector/USB charging device recommended by Mr. Unfocused. It turned out to be a birthday present from my brother: a Kindle. Now I’ve never had a particular desire to own an e-reader, but my recent experience schlepping work files and two laptops through the airport had made me think that it would be nice to leave the books at home. And suddenly, now I can.

So, internet friends, I ask of you: what should I put on my Kindle for my next trip?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. eleanorio permalink
    July 29, 2011 7:00 am

    The Gutenberg Project (http://www.gutenberg.org/catalog/) has tons of books whose copyright has expired. Just browse their catalogue and download something you’ve always wanted to read but never had the chance to. My daughter also loads hers up with knitting patterns and finds it’s invaluable. You can also connect to the internet absolutely anywhere using cellphone technology FOR FREE, so you are never without Google maps or your email. Congratulations on getting one. I have been considering it ever since Little Princess got one.

  2. July 29, 2011 7:35 am

    Mine is so new I haven’t even done what Eleanorio suggests…yet. I have put most of the Jane Austen novels on it for free, and bought LOTR, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Dune, and The Gone-Away World. Now I never have to be without them. And I’m starting to get the hang of switching from Home to Menu to put “bookmarks” in the text and pausing only at chapters to do stuff like skip to the end, because the Kindle doesn’t make it easy for people to read non-linearly.

  3. July 29, 2011 7:36 am

    Love, love, love my Kindle and I put everything on it. While I do enjoy the feel of paper books, the convenience of having lots of books with me everywhere I take my Kindle plus the ease of reading even in direct bright sunlight trumps the paper. I struggled with one of the recent books in Fresh Hell’s IFBC selections because it was not available on Kindle and at the time I was traveling 100% for work so hauling a paper book wasn’t realistic for me.

  4. freshhell permalink
    July 29, 2011 7:44 am

    The next couple IFBC selections?

  5. July 29, 2011 7:59 am

    The book I’ve most enjoyed recently is Amy Bloom’s ‘Where the God of Love Hangs Out’. I recommend it.

  6. July 29, 2011 11:59 am

    i have tons of the free samples from books i’ve seen reference to but haven’t committed to…

    also, i just downloaded a (free) (new to me) wilkie collins based on something i read in the times or the new yorker…

  7. July 31, 2011 6:50 am

    Happy (now late) birthday! I think with all the traveling ahead of you, you’ll love having a Kindle. I have two novels to recommend, although you may have read them already: Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenes and The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton. They’re my favorite recent reads, although they still cost the price of a book.

  8. July 31, 2011 8:35 am

    I loved Middlesex. I read it in the original doorstop hardback version and can see how it might have been easier to finish with a Kindle. I managed to bruise my nose by dropping the book on my face while dozing off with it one night. I’m unfamiliar with the other one and will check it out. I decided that the first purchased books needed to be chosen carefully. I selected Carol Saller’s The Subversive Copy Editor and E.B. White’s Here is New York, both of which I’m enjoying immensely. And Cranky got me the new Ann Patchett novel for my birthday, which I’m saving for my next plane ride/airport sit. I’ll be checking out the free options as soon as I have a chance. Magpie, the free samples option is one of my favorite things. I checked out a bunch of new books that way and was able to rule out things I’d thought I’d might be interested in without spending a dime. Anna, the Bloom looks very much like something I would like. Thanks for the recommendation! Freshhell, that’s an excellent idea, although I just can’t bring myself to pay money for The Help. And Jeanne, your list reminded me that I’ve been wanting to read The Eyre Affair but have been unable to find it at the library. Now’s my chance!

Leave a Reply

