Skip to content

This is why events unnerve me

August 5, 2011

Two weeks in and I am learning to love summer Fridays, not because I get time off (I don’t — partly because I’m still trying to keep my head above water and partly because I’m going to be travelling on my free Fridays from now on) but because everybody else does, so I can actually get things done. Still, after yesterday, in which there were a lot of fires to put out, including one fire that came on legal letterhead from a city in eastern Europe, I’m feeling like a slacker for going through old email (insofar is email can be old after only two weeks on the job) and getting ahead on bigger projects.

Unfortunately, I still have a terrible, terrible cold. I really hope it goes away before I have to step on a plane again in a couple of days. I was supposed to be making phone calls today, but I have had to postpone, on account of an unreliable larynx. Instead I am puzzling out unfathomable abbreviations and trying to determine what it means to classify languages as “guessable” or “unguessable.” Guessable by whom?

In other news, I apparently got my first paycheck, although I will not actually possess it until Monday when I’m back in the office. Sometimes I forget there’s payment involved. Maybe that’s a function of being in grad school for so long. My friend M, who came to visit earlier this week, reminded me that when our mutual friend L got her first teaching job after the Ph.D., she said, “It’s really great. They pay you! And then, a month later, they pay you again!” I know just how she felt. Also, now I can buy my next plane ticket. There will eventually be direct deposit, but it’s kind of nice that the first check is on actual paper. It’s more ceremonial that way.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 2:21 pm

    Take some precautions that you don’t catch viruses on every flight!

    Glad things are going well- I’ve been catching up on your first weeks of work. I wish I could say I was caught up on everything else. School here starts MONDAY (yes, you read right: August 8) and we haven’t quite finished unpacking, but now school supplies litter the floor too. I know I will find time to blog again. Sometime!

  2. August 5, 2011 2:22 pm

    Don’t know how I got a happy face there when I tried typing “August 8″….

  3. August 5, 2011 2:28 pm

    It’s the 8+parenthesis. You got the happy face with sunglasses! I caught this one from Mr. Spy who caught it from AJ, but it has made me think that I need to be extra vigilant on the planes. This travel thing is tiring enough when you’re feeling fine. And I’ll need to make time for a flu shot.

  4. eleanorio permalink
    August 5, 2011 2:46 pm

    I remember getting an actual pay cheque before direct deposit. My husband worked one summer job where the guys actually lined up on Friday and were paid in cash. Then they went to the bar and spent it all. Maybe that’s why they stopped doing it that way.

Leave a Reply

