Skip to content

Banh mi

August 8, 2011

I have to say that while I miss both my family and Cranky and Baby J, it was also a lovely thing to putter around the apartment alone this morning. I am, generally speaking, a morning person. But I’d forgotten how nice it can be to be totally quiet in the morning. By the time I made it to the subway, I was ready for some noise.

The Kindle, while excellent for travel in general,is even better for the subway, because unlike regular books, it’s very easy to read with one hand, leaving the other for holding onto the pole, should you be unlucky enough to have to stand all the way to Midtown.

It was a busy day, in a good way. I was very absorbed, so much so, that I let my morning appointments run long, which meant no time for lunch. I had my first big meeting with a lot of people, including some high ups from the overseas office, where, quite unexpectedly, I had to give a presentation. I had no idea the meeting was going to be so large Fortunately I had things to say and they seemed to go over well, although I felt very inarticulate. I still feel a bit like I’m playing dress up in this job. But I think it went okay.

I worked late because I wasn’t ready to quit. I save the fun stuff for last. But I promised myself I’d leave by six and I tried, I really did. But on my way to the subway, I remembered that I’d left my signed paycheck on my desk. I went back. It was a nice day and I really didn’t mind that much. And the return trip turned out to be a good thing, because on my way out again, I ran into a friend from college in the elevator. Y and I were fellow music majors. We graduated the same year and we both played violin, so we saw quite a lot of each other. It wasn’t a total surprise to see her. I knew she worked there. She stopped by my cubicle last week and I actually poked my head into hers today when I went up to HR to pick up my paycheck. But she had been on the phone. Coincidentally, she was on her way to my neighborhood to see a friend’s gig and was looking to kill some time and grab a bite to eat. So we rode the subway out to Brooklyn and stopped to eat in a Vietnamese restaurant we spotted that turned out to be very good. It was a lovely way to spend the evening, catching up with an old friend and new coworker.

And now I’m tucked in bed ready to do it all again tomorrow. And I really do think I’m ready for more. That’s a good thing. I like going to bed looking forward to tomorrow. I know there will be bad days ahead as well as good, but right now it’s all sunshine and roses and I’m trying to enjoy it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 11:27 pm

    I’m really enjoying your posts about the new job and life in NYC. Thanks for sharing!

  2. August 8, 2011 11:35 pm

    That sounds so great, all of it. I wish you many happy days to come!

  3. August 9, 2011 5:35 am

    Well, now you’ve gone and made me homesick for Hong Kong, where you’ll find Himself’s and my favorite pho place….better than anything in HCMC I tell ya. It had to be a pretty hot day in HK before we’d go for sarnies there over the pho!

  4. eleanorio permalink
    August 9, 2011 6:48 am

    As you said: All this and you get paid, too!

  5. FreshHell permalink
    August 9, 2011 7:47 am

    I do love waking up alone to a quiet house. It happens so rarely that I savor every moment. Enjoy it while it lasts! Sounds like you’re having a terrific adventure.

  6. August 9, 2011 9:18 pm

    I’m hoping my job situation turns out half as well as yours. Right now it’s just a big old ball of anxiety. Most things seem easier once you actually begin, though, right?

  7. August 9, 2011 10:04 pm

    Thanks, LSM and Violet! IWOM, would you believe I’ve never tried pho? I always get waylaid by the appetizers and never make it to the entrees. Vietnamese spring rolls are among my most favorite foods. Eleanorio, exactly. Freshhell, it is feeling like an adventure. And Jeanne, waiting for things to start is always, at least for me, anxiety inducing. I don’t like the unsettledness. I hope yours goes well!

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

