Skip to content

Spent

August 11, 2011

I took another scholar out to lunch today. This time the scholar was from eastern Europe and the restaurant was Moroccan. I told him I’d taken the Argentinian out yesterday. “Where’d you go?” he asked. I told him about the Swedish Restaurant where we’d dined under a birch tree. Indoors. “Did she pick it?” he asked. I said that she did. “It figures.” Somewhere in there is a story that I’m not understanding. We ate grilled fish and cucumber salad and sharp salty olives and talked about databases and transliteration systems and piracy in China.

I got to work early and I stayed a little too long. But it felt good to finish something, particularly since it was something I’ve been struggling with for a couple of weeks. I’ve been putting in nine and a half hour days without batting an eyelash. So I will have no problem taking tomorrow afternoon off to fly home. In fact, I’m looking forward to it. There’s a big difference between 3 days and 5 days gone.

I should go to the park. Or walk down Seventh Avenue. Or at least to the bodega to buy a pint of ice cream and some groceries for Cranky. Instead, I’m curled up on Cranky’s sofa avoiding packing. Tomorrow I have no meetings. Half the office, including both my boss and my predecessor will be off. I might actually get some work done before I hop a plane home.

I miss AJ and Mr. Spy. It’s been a great week, but I’m ready to go home and sleep in my own bed.Tonight I’m not listening to the traffic down the block or even the hum of the airconditioner. Tonight I am watching the clock and turning it back an hour to home, wondering when AJ’s doing at football practice, what vegetables have ripened while I’ve been gone, and how fast that plane will fly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2011 7:17 am

    Your title reminds me that I’m wondering how your feet are doing through this adventure.

  2. August 12, 2011 10:07 pm

    Surprisingly well. Which means that although my feet always hurt, they don’t hurt any more than usual for all the extra walking and stair climbing and high-heel wearing I’m doing. I bought one fantastic pair of shoes before this whole adventure started. They were comfortable from day one; they look like heels but feel like flats with arch support; and they work with both skirts and pants. The finish wears like iron. I wear them every day. I’ll be buying more on other colors sometime soon. They also have great rubber souls that were particularly helpful for descending into the subway on slippery, rainy days. Can’t say enough good things about Tsubo. Not inexpensive, but totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

