Skip to content

Machinists

August 15, 2011

Well that weekend went fast.

Saturday Mr. Spy and I joined the 20th century and got what Joy calls “smarty pants phones.” It happened exactly as predicted that Mr. Spy, who’s been complaining about his lack of smarty pants phone for some time, now that he has one is unhappy with it. Mr. Spy is a not-so-secret Luddite. We humor him. He will like it eventually. I have already stocked mine with contacts and apps and music. Mr. Spy’s is barren and he won’t let me touch it. He refused to text me so i texted Cranky instead. Mr. Spy is no fun sometimes. When I wanted to try out the video chat feature I had to get AJ to help me out. AJ understands that it is cool. He understands that I’m feeling like Dick Tracy with his very first two-way wrist radio.

Saturday night, AJ had his friend N, who used to live here and now lives an hour away, over for a sleepover. They were loud and rambunctious, as well they should have been. Nothing got broken. Pizzas were eaten. Scary stories were told. And a good time was had by all. Sunday morning, we met N’s family for brunch and exchanged hostages. In the afternoon, AJ and I finally made it to the beach. Thanks to the new phone, we have pictures:

This is a new beach. It opened this year in a former quarry that’s only about 10 minutes from our house. That last picture was taken from a paddleboat in which AJ and I were touring the lake. I’ll be going back sometime soon to kayak.
In the evening, we all piled on the couch to watch Bedtime Stories, which we all enjoyed.

Today it was back to work at my desk. There are interesting things to work on. I’m still having fun.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 8:01 am

    texting you…

  2. August 16, 2011 8:09 am

    Glad you’re still having fun. I’m going to text you, too! I don’t know how to use all the features of my phone yet, including that video chat, but hope to explore all its mysteries before it wears out in two years…

  3. freshhell permalink
    August 16, 2011 9:05 am

    That beach reminds me of the lake we go to (though, sadly, we’ve only been once this summer). I’m glad you got to the water and had a relaxing weekend.

  4. August 16, 2011 9:11 am

    Before you all text me, I have a new phone number. I’ll forward it when I can remember how to figure out what it is. The catch is that the old numbers still work. One of them now belongs to Mr. Spy. The other one will get passed on to AJ eventually, at least until the money runs out, so he can text me in NY.

    Also, we didn’t get a good picture of the thing I like best about the beach, which is that there are lots of little islands in the lake. Some you can swim to, others you can walk to over bridges or boat to. It’s a very appealing place. It looks like eventually there will be a walking path all the way around, but it’s not done yet. It’s quite large, so that would be a good hike.

  5. August 16, 2011 11:07 am

    You might consider signing up for Google Voice. You can keep the phone number, port it to the new phone or to them, have them forward calls to one or the other, etc. Very useful. I texted your old cell then I guess.

    BTW, check to see what number it looks like I texted from- it may show up as my cell or it may show the new phone number that came with the phone. That may be a kink in the Google Voice process in fact. Don’t hang onto any new number tho- my cell number is actually the same.

  6. August 16, 2011 11:37 am

    Yay! Pictures!

    I want a smarty pants phone, too. We have to wait until we want them so badly that we can bear to part with the extra expense. It’s getting closer and closer, though —

    I can text with my old phone, though. I had teenagers — that’s the only way they’ll communicate.

  7. August 16, 2011 11:56 am

    @readersguide: Consider the Virgin Mobile prepaid phone. It costs ~$130 upfront for the phone (bought mine on Amazon), but then only $25 a month (no contract) for unlimited data and 300 anytime minutes. Mine is the Optimus V and it seems to do great. Voice navigation, gmail, easy syncing with the computer etc.

  8. August 16, 2011 1:38 pm

    Hooray for smarty pants! I love your photos. That first one, especially, is striking.

  9. Jeanne permalink
    August 16, 2011 3:15 pm

    RG I paid a hundred for the phone and ten a month for our family plan

  10. August 16, 2011 5:50 pm

    Jeanne: what company? Data and minutes?

  11. August 17, 2011 8:20 am

    Verizon, which is the only one that works where I live. We have four phones on the plan, three with data and one without. The minutes are whatever comes with it; we’ve never gone anywhere near their upper limit.

  12. August 17, 2011 5:38 pm

    I will echo Google Voice. We both have it because we ditched the land line when we moved to Boston. But we share minutes and unlike Jeanne, we have to watch ours carefully or we can and have run over. So we use Google Voice for all outgoing to calls to numbers that are not Verizon mobile numbers (those calls don’t count against our plan).

    We also signed up for unlimited text and if you didn’t, you may want to also. Texting was and is one of the mainstays of our communications. But what do you expect, we both worked for Sprint for 10 years so of course it is.

  13. August 18, 2011 9:33 am

    Great pictures! Glad you like the new phone. If your Mac is running 10.6, you can get FaceTime as a desktop app from the app store, which I find a little easier to use when I’m siting in a hotel room.

    The Siren and I share minutes on our plan, but most months have quite a few left over — these rollover to later months, so we have plenty in reserve when we need them. Calls between us don’t use minutes anyway, and we do most of our daytime chatting by texting anyway.

    I agree with the suggestion to get a Google Voice account. I don’t use it as my main number, but I use it as a backup for areas with no cell service but access to wifi (e.g., my mother’s house) and both the iPhone app and the web version work well.

  14. August 18, 2011 2:39 pm

    I actually have a Google Voice account, but I’ve never used it, because I don’t really understand how it works or what it’s supposed to do for me. I’m also confused by the decision to either port my mobile number or use Google Voice lite. Any recommendations are more than welcome.

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

