Skip to content

Your smooth Venetian skin

August 18, 2011

I’m sorry, imaginary friends. I didn’t mean to be gone for so long. The home end of this traveling thing is definitely more than a little crazy. I’ve been working long hours this week. And falling down on my job of fixing up the house. And there have been back to school supplies to buy — school starts on Wednesday. And also, the dog ate my homework.

Work has been all-consuming the last few days. I’ve been doing a lot of work and planning for a meeting I am running next week that involves people in multiple countries and states. I’ve also been spending some unexpected time handling a crisis with another project that is requiring some very creative thinking to solve. Consequently my vow to keep my inbox in the double digits has gone out the window before my fourth week on the job is even out. I’m hoping I’ll get caught up tomorrow. I’m learning to love Fridays. Half the office is always gone.

Yesterday afternoon, AJ and I went up to his school for the annual posting of the class lists. AJ is pleased. Most of his friends are in his class. Not O and not The Boy Across the Street. But Ben Franklin Boy and The Girl Next Door are both there, as is the kid with the impish grin who showed us how he could belch the alphabet at AJ’s birthday party, and the kid with the slow, warm smile who we sometimes run into at the game store when AJ is plotting ways to spend his allowance. Half his class from last year, in fact, seems to be there.

Today I took AJ to School of Rock for his guitar lesson and got a royal welcome. My former boss pointed out that he was wearing his New York cap. The drum teacher wanted to know where I was living. The sax teacher asked about my dissertation and the tattooed guitar teacher who was once my student gave me advice on buying a mandolin as he was rosining up the cello he’d just purchased at the Salvation Army. I countered with advice on cello bowholds. It was nice to be back there. I’ve been playing more guitar this week than I have in a while. I’ve missed it. I also made it to yoga class this evening, my first in three weeks. Best therapy ever. I came home and looked up The Mandolin Bros. shop on Staten Island, which of course I want to go to. But it will probably have to wait until we move there, as their weekday hours are not conducive to those of us with day jobs. But it will be a good excuse to take AJ on the Staten Island ferry. Maybe I’ll go drool in the window of Matt Umanov’s instead.

These are good things to think about. I’m trying not to think about how I’m missing back to school night and the first day of school. AJ and I have been practicing with my new iPhone. We’ve been texting Mr. Spy in his evening coaching meetings and sending him pictures of AJ making silly faces. The good part is I now have a collection of silly AJ’s on my phone too. I’m hoping they’ll think to send me some more when I’m missing them next week.

I leave you with the great Bill Monroe and his mandolin. The song, “Wayfaring Stranger,” starts around 45 seconds in.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2011 11:07 pm

    Aha! Spandau Ballet, “Mandolin”. From the album “Journeys to Glory.” Fantastic reference.

  2. August 19, 2011 8:38 am

    “I’m hoping they’ll think to send me some more when I’m missing them next week.” Don’t just hope. Ask them to do it. I always disappoint myself when I expect [men] to think something like that for me.

    Is the house already on the market or are you doing projects first?

  3. freshhell permalink
    August 19, 2011 8:55 am

    I thought of you the other night as I contemplated repainting the living room. It’s been 8 years (and it shows!). Probably time for a new coat.

  4. Cranky permalink
    August 19, 2011 9:23 am

    It sounds really hard to have two different lives, but at least the job is very good.

  5. August 19, 2011 10:41 am

    I was at a lunch with Matt Umanov once. Had no idea who he was. He left and said he had to “see a man about a guitar”. Turned out he was heading out to meet up with Steve Earle. If I’d known who he was, though, I probably would have been too intimidated to talk to him!

  6. August 20, 2011 7:50 pm

    I knew I could count on you, Hugh! Jill, you make an excellent point and I did. We are still doing projects, mainly because we are waiting for workmen for one of them and also because I am not around enough to be much help. Freshhell, I don’t want to think about how much more painting we should do. Cranky, it’s weird, not so much because of being in two places, but because my family doesn’t have any experience with one of them. Magpie, I’m jealous!

Leave a Reply

