Skip to content

Holding pattern

August 31, 2011

Sorry, Internet, but my job is kicking my ass at the moment. Two enormous deadlines plus one unexpected crisis=several 14 hour days. Last night I worked until midnight and had to be on the job again at 7:30 (Chicago time — it was starting time in NY). To make matters worse, Mr. Spy has taken himself to the Botanic Garden and is cruelly sending me beautiful pictures of Arcadia. As a result, I was forced to drag myself out of my basement office and colonize the back porch, where I have two computers, two telephones and a wicker basket full of files, and also the remains of a BLT sandwich, with which I consoled myself. On the plus side, all the projects are interesting. I will be back soon with tales of my escape from Irene, of a bicycle adventure, and probably some other stuff I’m not thinking about right now because I’ve spent the last 48 hours staring at spreadsheets in several languages. Oh, and a picture of my favorite taxidermy shop, because I live in a place where there are enough of them to have a favorite.

Come back soon!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 2:06 pm

    A BLT = excellent consolation.

  2. August 31, 2011 2:46 pm

    BLT… what’s for dinner (thanks for the suggestion!)

  3. August 31, 2011 3:03 pm

    BLT tip: I had forgotten I was out of mayonnaise since the last power outage, and so I was forced to make some from scratch. I also forgot I was out of lemons, so I made my mayonnaise with lime and let me tell you, it was outstanding, if a little runny. I never can seem to get the consistency right with mayonnaise.

  4. August 31, 2011 9:21 pm

    All the projects are interesting! What a good thing. As a friend of mine–who works down the hall from me now–said today, we have more good ideas than money or resources, and that’s kind of nice.

  5. September 2, 2011 12:18 am

    I look forward to your updates! And I will confess my love of taxidermy, so I fully understand the impetus to have a favorite shop.

    I hope you can get some good rest.
    Xo

  6. September 2, 2011 7:02 pm

    Spreadsheets and 14 hour days? Oh no. That sounds like work.

Leave a Reply

