Skip to content

Postcards from the Edge

September 14, 2011

There’s now a lockbox on our front door and a sign in our yard. Our house is officially for sale. And we’re not sure how we feel about it. On the one hand, we’re excited about new opportunities and new places. On the other, we love this house and the yard. True, it’s less the kind of love you feel for a new romance and more the way you love a benevolent family member you’ve known forever, maybe that uncle with a penchant for wearing embarrassing purple argyle socks with his sandals and likes to ask you to pull his finger, who drives you crazy sometimes.

* * * * *

I am so not ready to fly back to New York tomorrow. How could I possibly have thought I could do this every week? It’s going to be a very late night. And a very early morning. Because tomorrow, the real estate agent is coming to take pictures of the inside of our house. Which hasn’t been vacuumed in weeks.

* * * * *

Did I mention I’m going to a fancy schmantzy wedding in a couple of weeks with some old friends and a lot of fashionable types. I finally found a dress last time I was in New York (two actually, because there’s also a rehearsal dinner). Now I am in need of accessorizing. I am so not good at this.

* * * * *

It hasn’t made it out of the 50s today. It’s lovely. I’m wearing a sweater and slippers.

* * * * *

Okay. I must clean and pack and panic now.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 8:20 pm

    Don’t panic (hands you a towel). When in doubt, carry your smallest purse and your darkest shoes. All will be well.

  2. September 15, 2011 1:28 am

    Oo, I like that advice, Jeanne!

    It must be bittersweet to see that lockbox on the door. I hope the process is easy for you, and the transition to your next place, smooth.

    While I don’t envy your schedule of late, I love hearing about your experiences in New York. I wish you much happy adventure.

  3. freshhell permalink
    September 15, 2011 9:15 am

    All manner of things will be well. In time.

  4. Cranky permalink
    September 15, 2011 9:55 am

    what kind of accessories? we should see if I can help.

  5. September 15, 2011 4:29 pm

    KISS: (for the accessories) earrings, and necklace if the dress requires one, a bag big enough for stuff and small enough to look dressy, shoes comfortable enough for standing but dressy enough to pass for wedding attire.

    Yes, your schedule would exhaust me and certainly stress me out; I dislike change and uncertainty. Here’s to hoping the house sells quickly.

  6. September 15, 2011 8:51 pm

    Cranky, I will take you up on this! This is the rehearsal dinner dress, although I bought it a size large so it’s more drapey than clingy and the skirt hits at the knee, not above. This one should be relatively easy to manage, but the catch is that I may have to wear it to the office first, depending on what’s happening that day. The dress I’m wearing to the wedding is this one. I adore the color and its vintagey style. But it desperately needs a necklace and a wrap/sweater something to keep me from freezing. I tried it with a burgundy silk wrap I have at home and the color combination is actually fabulous, so now I’m wondering about cinnebar jewelry or something.

  7. September 15, 2011 10:32 pm

    That yellow (saffron?) dress is fabulous! I love the idea of cinnabar jewelry with it. Glamorous!

    And if you have to wear that black dress to the office, you should be set. It can be dressed up or down. (I say, lying in bed in my sweatshirt printed with a giant cat head.)

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

