Skip to content

Shiver me timbers

September 20, 2011

It is funny the things I am getting used to in New York. Like today, I was walking up Madison Avenue with my headphones in on my way to work and two burly men jumped in front of me and looked like they were trying to accost me. I curled in on myself and tried to go around them, in an instinctive sort of way before I realized they were talking to me. “I’m sorry, Miss, but we’re trying to film a movie here.” So I crossed the street, walked up to the next corner and crossed back, thinking about how I didn’t see anything interesting and wondering if it was significant that they called me “Miss” instead of “Ma’am.” I didn’t think much about the filming itself. It’s the third time I’ve run into something like this on my way to work in the last couple of weeks. I wander across movie shoots here the way I wander across horses on my street at home.

And then there are the pirates.

Last Thursday, the day we all arrived in New York, we were heading into the subway around rush hour to get ourselves down to the Village where we were meeting a friend for dinner, when a pirate cut in front of this and headed down the stairs to the platform with a guitar slung on his back. We saw another pirate in Prospect Park on Saturday. That one was having a mock swordfight with someone. Perhaps they were all preparing for National Talk Like a Pirate Day yesterday. Or perhaps there was mock buried treasure to be protected.

Alas, no pirates at the office. I’ve spent the last three days in all day meetings which might have been livened up with some sword-fighting. But no, only a lot of note-taking and discussion and expense account lunches. Not all bad, actually. Much accomplished. But I’m exhausted and reduced to a night of leftovers in front of hulu.Tomorrow I make a big presentation to my boss’ boss. I’m a little nervous about this one, not least because it’s my last meeting of 7. I’m hoping on Thursday I might get some actual work done.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 11:40 pm

    It may be up to you to start the sword-fighting in the office. I am all for it, especially if there’s an account expense lunch somewhere in the picture.

  2. September 21, 2011 6:46 am

    Yeah I’ve had the same experience re filming here in Boston–usually around the Public Gardens or Boston Common. Although one time there was a film crew in our neighborhood and they’d sprayed their fake snow everywhere. It didn’t look real to me but I imagine the film gets enhanced or something in production so that the fake stuff does look real.

    Oh and I just remembered–when Kent was living here before I moved here, something was filmed on his street. He took pictures of the 10 or so “dead” bodies scattered around the street. He knew he didn’t live in Kansas any more after that.

  3. September 21, 2011 9:49 am

    Wow. Guess you know you’re not in Kansas anymore.
    I find meetings to be the strangest part of my new job. They take a lot of time, and always create more work.

  4. September 21, 2011 3:38 pm

    Back when I worked in a meeting-intensive job where most of the meetings were on the phone, we were actually expected to do our work DURING the meetings. I guess the idea was that nobody could see none of us paying attention. It was mind-numbing. My mantra became the slogan from that despair.com poster on Meetings: “None of us is as dumb as all of us.”

  5. September 21, 2011 3:39 pm

    I don’t know how I got that half egg/half dinosaur avatar up there, but I really like it. And the likeness is quite stunning, except I have a really small head. Other than that, spot on!

Leave a Reply

