Skip to content

A scanty bit of a thing

September 26, 2011

AJ went to the birthday party for the Boy Across the Street’s little sister yesterday and came home covered in mud and carrying the leg of a donkey piñata, which, he told us, he’d rescued from the river. How the piñata ended up in the river, don’t really want to know.

But there’s now a donkey leg in my kitchen.

The party was dog themed. All the little girls came with their dogs. AJ was there to lend moral support to The Boy Across the Street. And it’s lucky he did, because even the dogs were wearing dresses. The best was the poor golden retriever in a lovely pink tutu.

I got out of there before I got recruited for pooper scooper duty.

* * * * *

AJ: Mom, I want to be a blob for Halloween.

Harriet: A blob? What’s your costume going to look like?

AJ: I just want to spray paint a sheet green and wear it.

Harriet: And we’ll need to cut some eyeholes.

AJ: No. No eyeholes.

Harriet: How are you going to see?

AJ: I can just look at the ground.

Harriet: How are you going to eat your candy?

AJ: I’ll just suck it under my sheet like a blob.

Harriet: Oh. Well that makes sense.

It is clear that AJ has accurately assessed my costume-making abilities. Still, I am hoping he rethinks the eyehole thing before trick-or-treating.

* * * * *

I am trying to get some work done will inhaling the carpet cleaning fumes (not too bad, since we hired an eco-friendly company, but it smells oddly like flea powder). Tomorrow we are having a realtor’s open house. Are we ready? No, we are not. But they will come anyway. So it’s probably good that I found that dead mouse in the basement this morning instead of tomorrow, right?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2011 3:07 pm

    I wish you so much luck showing the house. That was one of the worst experiences of my life–trying to get and then keep a house in order to be shown. The other was being a waitress for a month one summer.

  2. September 26, 2011 3:11 pm

    There are some similarities between those two situations.

  3. eleanorio permalink
    September 26, 2011 3:26 pm

    I feel for you. Good luck.

  4. September 26, 2011 3:54 pm

    Pook wants to be a Lego minifig for Halloween. This means a bucket over the head. He does not object to eyeholes, but I’m not convinced they provide enough sight to run around a neighborhood in the dark. Blob, huh. Maybe he actually wants to be a Blog but mispronounced it.

  5. freshhell permalink
    September 26, 2011 5:54 pm

    I’m much better at staging a house than I am at waitressing. Esp if no one wants to look in the closets. “What’s in here? Why is this door locked?”

    Eyeholes might be a good idea. Hope he decides to do that. 🙂

  6. September 26, 2011 10:02 pm

    How would you be a blog? Walk around looking really busy but actually do nothing while talking about yourself nonstop?

  7. September 27, 2011 6:16 am

    cannot stop giggling…we should all be blogs for Halloween!

  8. September 27, 2011 1:15 pm

    Eeek.

    Harriet, that’s a very apt description of a blog.

  9. September 27, 2011 6:03 pm

    I hope people showed up for the open house. This was not the best weather for it, especially with clean carpets.

Leave a Reply

