Skip to content

Stopping by my desk on a windy evening

September 28, 2011

This week is kicking my butt. I’ve been working on several enormous projects, including one that involves a lot of stuff about the technical side of web database design, some of which I just barely understand. I’ve got a proposal to write and a couple of meetings to plan. I’ve had a number of small victories this week, though. I managed to locate an out-of-print reference item that my department has been looking for a couple of years. I pinned down a new diss committee member to replace the one who retired and left no forwarding address. And I nearly finished my conference paper, which I need to send to my panel chair in just two weeks. We also held an open house which was better attended than expected, especially given the awful weather, and someone came and looked at the place today.

Tomorrow I’m heading down to the University to meet with my advisor both in his advisorial capacity and also as an affiliate of the place I now work. There is a great deal of work to be done and I’m traveling a long way to do it.

It’s especially tricky timing because I’m heading back to New York on Friday, this time with Mr. Spy, for a fancy wedding. AJ is not coming. He’s staying with his aunt and being taken care of by two uncles, two aunts, a cousin and a grandmother. He’ll be thoroughly entertained. I’ve heard a rumor that he’s going to the Bears game on Sunday. He may not want us to come home. But I’m going 7 whole days without seeing him except on Skype. I’m trying not to think about that.

So let me think about the wedding instead. I actually have the wardrobe thing figured out, which is good. I found a vintage 50s era bakelite choker for a highly reasonable price at a new vintage store (is that an oxymoron?), so I”m even accessorized. The store was teeny but had some really nice things for reasonable prices if you could get past the chatty owner who wants to sell you cloisonné jewelry and painted ceramic brooches. But there were many drool-worthy items. There were wigs and travelling cases and an entire rack of fake pearls, the heavy kind that feel substantial. There were vintage handbags (although one of them was one I still own that I bought new in high school; I tried not to be miffed). There was even a hairdryer like the one my mom used to have, the kind you sit under that came in a case that unbuckled and popped up. You pulled the dome over your head and the hot air pushed out of all the little holes and fried all the water right off.

And now I have to get ready for my meetings tomorrow. I have promises to keep. And many downloads before I sleep, and many downloads before I sleep.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2011 7:48 am

    I love pearls. As the Madwoman of Chaillot claims, even fake ones become real if you believe.

    The trick to being so busy is to find enough things to look forward to amid all the stuff you have to cope with, don’t you think?

  2. freshhell permalink
    September 29, 2011 8:15 am

    You passed up wigs? For shame. Have fun! I’d love to see a photo of that choker (I love bakelite). In your spare time, of course. 🙂

  3. Harriet M. Welsch permalink
    September 29, 2011 8:38 am

    Pictures forthcoming at some point, but maybe not for a little while.

  4. September 30, 2011 2:18 am

    Oo, wigs! And pearls! Yes, we will need pictures, when you get time. I hope your open house went well, and that things progress in the best possible way. Xo

  5. September 30, 2011 9:09 pm

    Oo pearls. I’m really getting into them a whole lot more. And thank goodness for Skype. Also we may be putting our place on the market soon. GEEZE!

    Too much excitement by far!

Leave a Reply

