Skip to content

Good night and good luck

October 5, 2011

I am both loving my work even more than usual this week and missing my family more than usual. Those things both seem to be intensifying as time goes on. The chasm between New York and Chicago is feeling bigger and bigger. I would really appreciate it if someone would buy my house and find me a place to live with a good school for AJ. This limbo thing is no fun.

I spent a lot of the day trying to sort out technical problems. I’m not an experienced computer programmer — or any kind of computer programmer, for that matter — but the logic of computer languages appeals to me. I like figuring things out. You have to remember that computers are not very smart, but they are very obedient. They can’t solve problems, but they are very good at doing what they are told. The question, when things goes wrong, is always about what it’s been told. 99% of the time, the problem is that you told it something you didn’t really mean. I’ve been wrestling with the way our search engine works since I got here. Some things work fine but others are nonsensical. Today I finally figured out why. And it felt like a triumph. But then, of course, some other weird problem turned up — mysterious links that appear for some people and not others, like UFOs. Why? That’s a question for tomorrow. One step at a time.

Today’s office excitement involved one of my coworkers who was having dinner with her boyfriend’s father for the first time this evening at a very fancy restaurant. At the end of the day, everyone was giving her advice and encouragement. Another coworker was helping her with her makeup. We are all business usually, except when we’re not. The fluid motion between work and life is one of my favorite things about where I work.

AJ called me tonight to tell me he’d taken the online Jeopardy test. He wants to be the third Spy family member to get a Jeopardy audition. Will he make it? Good luck, AJ!

I feel too dumb for Jeopardy today. I am in dire need of sleep. I am hopeful that tonight will bring some. I will, however, take a few minutes to remember Steve Jobs, without whom I would not be typing this post right now. Nor would I be able to call my son 800 miles away from an apartment with no phone line and no internet connection and see his face while I talk to him. Thank you, Steve, wherever you are.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2011 5:55 am

    Yes the worst thing about the nine months we lived apart is that as you said, we lived in limbo. We just didn’t know when or if our situation would change. For us, we hit the end point about May of that year and decided we would become long distance landlords. I don’t recommend that path to anyone but it’s what we decided to do. We were very lucky–just a couple of weeks later we received a break even bid on our house. In 2008, that was as good as making a profit given the wretched housing market.

    I hope your situation resolves much faster.

  2. October 6, 2011 7:09 pm

    I would really like all three Spies to audition for Jeopardy. Then I would like at least one (maybe two?) to write it up.

  3. October 6, 2011 8:47 pm

    Two of us have auditioned, Mr. Spy in 2010 and me this past spring. AJ hopes to join the ranks. Alas, none of us has been summoned to actually go on the show.

Leave a Reply

