Skip to content

Back in a New York groove

October 7, 2011

So here I am on Friday night. Still in New York.

It was bound to happen sooner or later. Strange that it happened on a day when there’s not a cloud in the sky from here to Chicago.

Everything was going smoothly. My car service showed up on time (unlike last time)! There was next to no traffic to LaGuardia! We boarded the flight on time! And then we sat. First our pilot said we were 8th in line. But then we sat. We sat for an hour. Then they announced they were having engine trouble and we were going back to the gate. Better to find that out before we left the ground, I supposed. I tried to remember that as everyone around me was groaning.

I was sitting in the back of the plane, so by the time I got to the rebooking line, it snaked past five gates and there were only two people handling it. I stood in that line for about an hour and a half (wherein I discovered that my Kindle is broken and I had nothing to read) before they announced that those of us in the back should go to another line. I stood in that line for about 20 minutes only to find out that it was the wrong line and I had to go stand in another line, which took another 20 minutes. Finally I got to someone who was able to rebook me on a flight going out in the morning, tell me how to get my bag and get me a car service voucher back to the city (voucher for my flight? Payment for the many hours of my lost time? No, of course not.). I waited another 30 minutes for car service and sat in traffic all the way back to Manhattan. I was zoning out to the vapid piano music — uninspired simplified versions of Fur Elise and the Moonlight Sonata. When we finally hit Soho, the soundtrack changed to the theme from Chariots of Fire and I tried to feel triumphant. I got in the apartment at 7:00. 6:00 Chicago time, about when I should have been walking in my other front door.

And so here I am on Friday night, back in the apartment eating a dinner of a half a frozen banana, a big bowl of green beans that I forgot to eat earlier this week and a bowl of oatmeal. Because I couldn’t quite face going out again for food and I haven’t figured out where the good takeout places are yet. I should really go out and do something, but I will probably stay in and feel sorry for myself. I should really work, but I will probably wallow in self-pity and watch videos on Hulu. I am missing a night at home with my family. I am missing AJ’s football game tomorrow. I have been gone for 8 days and I’m ready to be home.

And the beauty of it is, I get to go back and do it again tomorrow! Hopefully that story will have a better ending.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2011 8:42 pm

    Oh, girl! What a day of travel woes! I feel for you and I hope you do something you enjoy. You know, sometimes it’s restorative to stay in and watch hulu and feel crappy. I’m sorry you’re missing your family. I hope your travels tomorrow are effortless.

    Xo!

    (I’m staying in tonight, too.)

  2. October 8, 2011 7:20 am

    Airline travel is such a nightmare anymore. Did I tell you that the airline canceled both flights I had scheduled for Eleanor? First the October break one, and then the Thanksgiving one. I rebooked the Thanksgiving one, and had to pay $300 more. And then the college shuttle scheduler was snippy with me about how they don’t give refunds. Hey, I wanted to say, how is this my fault?

  3. October 8, 2011 8:23 am

    ugh. Find the good takeout, invest in bubble bath and a junky magazine so you can be prepared for this next time.

  4. October 8, 2011 7:40 pm

    Oh dear. This is too bad —

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

