Skip to content

A life of its own

October 8, 2011

I made it home. In record time, even. The plane arrived 40 minutes early. Unfortunately, the airport couldn’t accomodate us, so we sat on the runway for 45 minutes. You win some, you lose some. Here’s hoping next weekend’s flight back is a lot less eventful. But I’ve had a beer, a BLT a nap, and some quality time with my guitar on a beautiful fall day. I’ve got no complaints. This fellow passenger on my flight might have some complaints, though:

In case you can’t believe your eyes, yes, that is a chihuahua wearing a tutu in LaGuardia airport. She was also wearing a hot pink and rhinestone necklace. No, not a collar, a NECKLACE. The dog’s owner was pecking away at a hot pink iPad that had been bedazzled. So it’s nice they matched, I suppose. When our plane started to board, the owner undressed the dog, wrapped her in a hot pink fleece blanket and put her inside a hot pink carrier. She neatly folded up the tutu and stuffed it into a Prada bag and returned to her book — something by Tolstoy in Russian. I think it was the Tolstoy that perplexed me the most.

While I was gone, AJ and Mr. Spy were learning about Jackson Pollack. This afternoon, they laid out two huge tarps on our lawn. The Boy Across the Street came over to see what was going on. Mr. Spy got out a lot of paint and paint brushes, put them in old clothes, and let them go to town on some canvas Mr. Spy had picked up at the hobby store. They made a very cool spatter painting, then took a break and came back for more. I was cooking dinner when this was going on. I came outside to see why things had gotten so quiet and found the boys playing football with The Boy Across the Street’s dad and his little brother. Mr. Spy was cleaning things up and The Boy Across the Street’s sister was begging to paint. A few minutes later, they were all back at the paints. TBATS’s sister ran and got her paint set and easel and started copying the Renoir painting on the cover of the book of canvases. The Boy Across the Street decided that he wanted to paint “a picture of the prairie with the sun going down.” AJ took a pencil and drew a picture on the canvas of a submarine. He was going to paint it, but he wasn’t happy with it and got frustrated and stopped. The two boys returned to football, but TBATS’s little sister kept going. I came out on the front porch with my guitar for a while and sat and played “Blackbird” while the sun went down.

And now I am hiding in my room because AJ is having a sleepover with Ben Franklin Boy. I really like Ben Franklin Boy. He’s funny and smart and easy to have around. But they need to have some fun without parents.

It’s nice to be home.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2011 7:49 am

    Lovely xx

  2. October 9, 2011 10:31 am

    Glad you made it. I only wish I could have seen the dog’s necklace.

  3. freshhell permalink
    October 9, 2011 6:44 pm

    Wow. That dog has made me speechless.

  4. October 11, 2011 1:02 am

    And a Prada bag, nonetheless. A true enigma. Welcome home! I hope your time is relaxing and enjoyable.

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

