Skip to content

Teach your children well

October 11, 2011

Last night, AJ asked if he could have a box. This morning he rummaged around in the part of our basement where we save boxes and came upstairs with one.

“Can I have this?”

“Sure. What are you going to do with it?”

“Just write on it.”

“Just make sure it’s something we can put away when you go to school, in case someone wants to see the house.”

“Okay.”

A little while later, AJ calls out from his room. “Mom! C’mere!”

“What do you need?”

“Just come here.”

I approach his room and see this:

“I can’t. The sign says closed.”

AJ appeared in the doorway and turned the sign around.

“What kind of great ideas are you selling?”

“You have to give me a quarter to find out.”

“Can I ask you for a great idea about a particular topic or do I just have to take what I get?”

“It depends.”

Ah, the Russian roulette school of business development.

I went back in my room and found a quarter and stuck it in the bank.

“I need a great idea about what kind of great idea to ask for.”

AJ grinned. “Your great idea is that you should buy more great ideas!”

“Spoken like a true capitalist.”

This true story was brought to you by the pile of Calvin and Hobbes books that AJ’s pored over since he was 3. Personally, I consider myself lucky. I’m only out a quarter. I could be out a babysitter, household plumbing or a car.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 12:53 pm

    I have mixed feelings about Calvin and Hobbes. Right now the book, sans cover, is up high in time out. When it comes back it will bring out lots of laughs for a while, then it will probably have the same result it usually brings– sassy, bratty behavior– and then I’ll end up putting it away again. Calvin is funny to read about, but I don’t want to be his mom.

  2. October 11, 2011 8:44 pm

    I’ve been Calvin’s mom for years now. It’s better than being Jeremy’s mom (from Zits).
    Have you ever read Uncle Shelby’s ABZ book???

  3. October 11, 2011 8:49 pm

    The sassing is exhausting, but it’s worth it for the innovation that comes with it. Calvin gets his brain going. Jeanne, is that the one with the egg monster who lives in the ceiling? If so, a fantastically subversive book.

  4. October 12, 2011 6:05 am

    Yes, that’s the one. We hid it from our children by putting it on a shelf high enough we thought they’d be old enough to read it by the time they could reach it.

  5. October 12, 2011 3:52 pm

    One of my mentors in college knew Bill Watterson and said he was Calvin, 100% and all the time. I thought that might be kind of fun but my mentor assured me it was both exhausting and annoying.

  6. October 13, 2011 8:31 am

    Watterson went to Kenyon, you know. Fit right in.

  7. October 13, 2011 12:30 pm

    Put me down for a buck’s worth — from one capitalist pig to another.

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

