Skip to content

We are Santa’s elves

October 13, 2011

I remember a few years ago, fairlywell used to talk more about her job. Because she didn’t want to get dooced, she said she worked at the candy factory (hint: she doesn’t really work at a candy factory). I had forgotten about this until she came up in conversation with Cranky (I think we were talking about babies) and Cranky said, “Didn’t she used to work in a candy factory?”

I bring all this up because my job, which is also not in a candy factory, has been all consuming lately — maybe it’s just the nature of this job or maybe it’s just because I love doing it). And I’ve been trying to figure out a way to talk about it here without telling you which candy factory I don’t work in.

So let’s say I work in a toy factory. A couple of years ago, some people were creating a new line of toys and asked me to invent a few for the collection. Now, as luck would have it, one part of my new job puts me in charge of that very collection. And it’s about to go into manufacturing, with my toys among them. Now it’s a very big collection and my toys are a very small part of it. But my mom pointed out to me that it’s really nice that my very first product at the toy factory will include my very first toys, invented before I ever imagined myself here. She’s right about that. And it’s the perfect example of how my new job is so very personal. It’s also maybe an explanation for why I think about it all the time.

To be specific, the toys head to the manufacturing department for beta testing at the end of the month. In case you haven’t noticed, that’s like TOMORROW. And we’re in a mad scramble to tie up all the loose ends. It’s crazy making and time consuming and stressful and just a little bit scary, but you know what? It’s also pretty damn exciting. This is my kind of adrenaline rush, one for which I still hold my own strings. Still, I’m not sleeping much.

More anxiety-inducing is the 20-minute presentation I have to do on Monday on things I’m not sure I know for reasons I really don’t understand. It has something to do with budgeting, but budgeting at the toy factory is a deeply mysterious process that takes place on several continents and is much more elaborate than anything I’ve ever been involved with before.

Also more anxiety-inducing: the mouse I found on my desk when I came down to my office this morning. I’m trying to decide whether I’m more worried about the fact that there’s a mouse in my office or that said mouse may type better than I do.

But I’m trying to set these things aside because today is Mr. Spy’s birthday. I have baked him a cherry pie and am still on pins and needles as to whether it set. Pie is not my strong suit, but the beautiful thing about pie is that even if it ends up as a soggy mess, it still tastes delicious. At least, that’s what I’m counting on.

And on a completely different subject, I could really use some new music. I’m in a rut. Anyone have any suggestions for me? Anyone on Spotify who wants to share some playlists? Bueller?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2011 7:10 am

    That’s very exciting! I like the toy factory analogy too. I had forgotten that I used to call my job the Candy Factory. I guess it was a more effective screen than I thought!

    Happy late birthday to Mr. Spy!

  2. freshhell permalink
    October 14, 2011 10:03 am

    Hope that pie turned out okay. I’m sure it did. Even a soggy pie is still worth eating, in my estimation.

    And, congrats on the toys! Very exciting.

  3. October 14, 2011 12:49 pm

    Yesterday was my dad’s birthday but I’m making him an apple crumble today b/c I am afraid of pies. Yes, this is bordering on a phobia now, but maybe not eating my soggy, crumbly, gooey lumps is best for all.

    Was Mr Spy born on a Friday the 13th? (a good luck day)

    On a different note, I’m trying to decide how much of my new job I can discuss without breaking confidentiality of special needs kids. Is changing names enough? I’m not eager for coworkers to know I blog, but if someone found it, I want my bases safely covered.

  4. cranky permalink
    October 16, 2011 5:05 am

    yes…gullible is not in my dictionary.

Leave a Reply

