Skip to content

Countdown

October 21, 2011

It’s my last night in New York for over a month. I’m trying to treat the moment with the gravitas that it deserves, but all I can think about is that I get to spend two and a half whole weeks without setting foot in an airport. Two whole weeks where I don’t have to wear uncomfortable shoes. I am very much looking forward to that. Birkenstocks, here I come.

I kicked off the evening (kicked being strictly metaphorical; please see the aforementioned uncomfortable shoes) by meeting up with Magpie, who came to meet me at my office before we headed out to get a glass of wine at a local restaurant. It’s been a pretty stressful week at the toy factory. Deadlines are coming thick and fast. I’ve had to stop putting all my tasks on my to do list and just stick to a list of the different projects I have to work on. There just isn’t room for everything. I just hope there’s room for it all in my head. So in any case, a glass of wine with a friend was just what the doctor ordered.

Still ahead: cooking everything left in the refrigerator (minus the Polaroid film, champagne and dead birds, all custody of the lease-holder), trying to fit into a single suitcase all the things I came with plus half the things I usually leave here, cleaning the apartment from top to bottom. This part of my life is not so exciting. But a little boring is okay. I could use some boring tomorrow. My last two flights have been delayed/cancelled due to mechanical problems. I could really use a more boring trip home. I would like to arrive on time. Ho hum. How very dull.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2011 6:26 am

    When there’s no longer room for everything on a to-do list is when you know you’ve got a job that engages your intellectual capacity. But here’s wishing you some more boring times to come.

  2. October 21, 2011 11:30 am

    It will be winter in NYC when you return

  3. October 21, 2011 1:11 pm

    It was really nice to see you. Hope you get/got home smoothly!

  4. October 23, 2011 3:18 pm

    Any dressed up dogs?

Leave a Reply

