Skip to content

Listening to October

October 26, 2011

I’ve been enjoying Spotify, so I’m pretty miffed that they’ve now made it difficult to use without hooking it up to Facebook. I really don’t need Facebook watching what I’m listening to. That’s what you all are for!

The thing I like best about Spotify is the ability to make instant gratification playlists. I hear something on the radio that I like, I throw it in a list. I’ve started making lists by month of the songs that strike my fancy. Here’s my list for October (links take you to Spotify).

Cowboy Mouth: Jenny Says
The Mavericks: What a Crying Shame
Neko Case: Things That Scare Me
Neko Case: The Needle Has Landed
Liz Phair: 6’1″
The Smiths: How Soon is Now?
The Fleet Foxes: Battery Kinzie
Ivy: Worry About You
Iron and Wine: The Night Descending
The Bad Plus: Smells Like Teen Spirit
One Eskimo: Kandi
Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings: I Learned the Hard Way
The Jayhawks: She Walks in So Many Ways
R.E.M.: We All Go Back to Where We Belong

What are you listening to this month?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2011 8:16 pm

    Oh, Cowboy Mouth! They visited my college campus once and I dragged a guy I was dating to see them. He didn’t appreciate it. It didn’t work out, obviously – although I think that was unrelated.

    iTunes says I’m mostly listening to Van Morrison and Lucinda Williams. Now there’s a pair.

    Continuing to make plans through comment sections: let me know when you see time for dinner, or coffee (back on it), or a waddling (me) walk somewhere leafy. I have some plans, but not too many this month.

  2. October 26, 2011 9:03 pm

    I just discovered Cowboy Mouth, via an as yet unidentified radio station I can sometimes pick up in New York. I can’t quite imagine Van Morrison and Lucinda Williams in the same room, although they share my iPod as well. As for time This coming Sunday might be a possibility. The following weekend there will doubtless be some time, but the exact schedule depends on the result of this weekend’s football game. After that I’m more or less out of commission until Thanksgiving week.

  3. October 26, 2011 10:05 pm

    I think I’m busy all day this Sunday – Kid A is going to help me finish with the stencils. Next weekend I have plans Saturday afternoon, but am otherwise free. Keep me posted on the schedule – DJ and I could always come out on Friday if that’s an easier day for you.

  4. October 26, 2011 10:53 pm

    Ooh, this will be fun.

    Every time I hear that Mavericks record I remember a day I spent on my hands and knees gardening. It might have been pre-ipod – a CD player and some speakers were in a basket I carried around with me.

  5. October 27, 2011 1:41 pm

    I just shared the list with you on Spotify. Also, I’d like to add that I fall more in love with that Jayhawks song every time I hear it. I’ve been a fan of theirs for a while, but this is my new favorite (from their latest album).

  6. October 27, 2011 4:05 pm

    I love The Needle Has Landed. Which probably doesn’t surprise you.

    What am I listening to? Not a lot. It has been true that listening to music lately gives my brain too much room to roam. I hope that changes soon. Maybe I can force a change, with your post as encouragement.

Leave a Reply

