Skip to content

Carpe diem

October 29, 2011

I was filing my receipts today and realized that this is the first weekend since July that has not involved me getting on a plane at one end or the other of it. Really, the travel hasn’t felt as onerous as I expected it would (Mr. Spy might beg to differ), but I would be lying if I told you I weren’t excited about being able to wake up in my own bed two Monday mornings in a row. Actually, it’s going to be five Monday mornings in a row, but only because I have to work both weekends before Thanksgiving. In two different cities. Neither of which is Chicago or New York.

But I am not thinking about that now because — yay, no airport this weekend! This is especially nice, since it appears LaGuardia is virtually closed BECAUSE OF SNOW. End of times.

Meanwhile, it is an absolutely spectacular fall day here at Spy Headquarters. I am, however, lying in bed. It appears all those people hacking on me on the plane last week may have gotten to me. I just hope it’s not whooping cough, which is spreading like wildfire in our area. So far, though, the only whooping is the yelling of the neighborhood kids, who are anticipating our neighborhood Halloween party, due to start at the barn behind our house in less than an hour. AJ will be going as Al Capone. We found him a good hat at the costume shop a couple of weeks ago and, amazingly, some matching trousers at the local thrift shop for $3, along with a clip-on tie for a buck. He has asked me to draw on some stubble, which I will attempt to do. We’re trying to decide if he should carry his candy in my violin case, which is, alas, the wrong shape for a gangster and may just confuse the message.

Still ahead: pumpkin carving, assuming I can stop hacking long enough to hold a knife steady. Given that I’ve already managed to slip on the ice on my back deck this morning (landing sprawling and spattering the house with coffee grounds, which I’d been on my way to compost) and fall down the stairs (that one I blame on my cold-addled head and feet that haven’t worn socks in a few months), I’m hoping the Halloweenathon doesn’t end with a trip to the emergency room. Wish me luck. Pictures to come, if I remember to bring a camera.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2011 7:31 pm

    Whooping cough is going around here, too – I keep yelling, “get your kids inoculated!” at the radio. Sadly, there’s also a nasty bug going around that’s just a general case of feeling awful.

  2. October 29, 2011 7:33 pm

    I called AJ’s pediatrician. He’s almost due for a booster, but not for a few more months yet. It’s making me nervous. But part of the problem is that it’s become vaccine resistant, apparently.

  3. October 30, 2011 4:33 pm

    As much as I love your stories from New York, I also enjoy your reflections on domestic life at Spy HQ. I hope you don’t get any sicker!

  4. October 31, 2011 6:32 am

    I fall down when not feeling well, too. And often decorate the fangs of my pumpkins with a few drops of my own blood. I hope you’re better today, to enjoy not traveling.

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

