Skip to content

Sob Sister

November 4, 2011

What a week this has been. At the Toy Factory, well, there are not enough hours in the day for any of us right now. That’s just the way it is. Things are moving and on track, thanks to my amazing assistant who has been putting in some crazy hours this week right along with me. I’m thinking I need to send her something from San Francisco. In addition to expected work, there were a few unexpected things, including a situation I did not expect to deal with — someone whom we contracted to create a new toy submitted a toy that was actually made by someone else and hoped we wouldn’t notice. It was kind of shocking, but may, in fact, have been an error of some sort. At least that’s what I’m hoping. He’s made other toys for us that were just fine. But I had to look them all over to make sure. The other unexpected thing is that I was asked to submit a formal proposal for a new toy to my boss’ boss, a meeting which is happening on Monday. It’s kind of exciting to see the process from the beginning. This is really just a preliminary stage. The actual proposal won’t go in for at least another month. So, big presentation on Monday.

Tuesday I leave for the first of two conferences in two weeks. My schedule terrifies me. I arrive Tuesday night. Wednesday I have meetings from 8:30 am to 8 pm with no time off. Thursday I have to help set up the Toy Factory’s exhibit and test my Powerpoint with the equipment for my presentation before a whole afternoon of meetings beginning at noon. One of these meetings isn’t about the Toy Factory. It’s about turning my dissertation into a book. I was contacted this morning by a well-respected editor at a very good press. I don’t know how she heard about me or my project — I’m not speaking about this project at this conference, so it’s not from the conference proceedings. But this is a meeting that I need to do well. Because of this meeting, I had to spend some quality time with my c.v. this evening and also write an annotated table of contents for the diss, which turned out to be an interesting exercise because, hey! It looks like a book! And also, when I sat down to write chapter summaries off the top of my head without checking my chapters, I was able to better essentialize my points than I can do when I’m mired in the middle of them. Also, the chapters where I don’t have enough of a point became abundantly clear. But the work left looks a lot smaller when I wrote it all out. I’ve been having trouble finding time for it with work these days, but it looks a little more manageable now, if I can just keep plugging away at it.

Friday, though is the killer day. I have meetings straight through from 7 a.m. to midnight. And yes, I am totally serious. 17 hours of meetings. Is that even possible? I guess we’ll find out. One of the evening meetings also involves me making a speech, so hopefully I will still be sentient. Fortunately the 9-midnight slot right after it will involve booze and food and I can probably leave early. “How,” I asked my friend S, the one I work with whom I’ve known for 20 years,”do you do this?” She’s been doing it a lot longer than I have. “You really want to know?” she asked. “I plan in some time for crying. Sometimes I just have to go upstairs and weep. Even if things are going really well.” I can see how that might be useful. But I can’t weep on Friday because I have to give my paper on Saturday and I need my beauty sleep. Maybe I can squeeze weeping into my schedule on Thursday. Or I could just sob all the way home on the plane on Sunday. Maybe they’d feel sorry for me and give me some extra legroom.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2011 1:57 pm

    With that schedule I will weep for you.

  2. November 5, 2011 2:55 pm

    Great idea! If I outsource the weeping, maybe I’ll have time for everything!

  3. freshhell permalink
    November 5, 2011 3:46 pm

    That’s what my week is missing! Time for crying.

  4. November 6, 2011 9:31 am

    Geez, I’ll weep for you, too. Sounds like you need a lot of help.

  5. November 6, 2011 9:32 am

    But you do have a killer haircut. That’s gotta help.

  6. cranky permalink
    November 6, 2011 4:41 pm

    that sounds both scary and exciting. also, can’t wait to hear more about the meeting about your diss / book!

  7. November 6, 2011 6:02 pm

    Maybe my new haircut will distract them so they don’t notice that my paper doesn’t so much conclude as it does peter out.

  8. November 7, 2011 10:59 am

    Yeah this will be a rough week. But hey, think how luxurious it will feel when you are done with the two weeks of insanity.

    I know, that doesn’t help now. Sorry 😦

  9. November 7, 2011 12:01 pm

    The sad part? I’m actually really looking forward to it, now that the heavy lifting is done. I get to spend five whole days talking with really smart people about music and catching up with a lot of old friends. Two of my favorite things. It won’t be easy, but it should be pretty stimulating.

  10. November 7, 2011 12:54 pm

    Wow, girl, that’s a lot to get through! I have no doubt that you’ll kick ass and still have plenty of time for booze and/or weeping. What a great opportunity for you! I can’t wait to hear how it went. Xo

Leave a Reply

