Skip to content

Unwinding

November 13, 2011

The conference is winding down. Any minute now I’ll start packing to go home. There’s a lot to digest, in a totally different way than last year. I accomplished a lot, I think.

My paper was well-received, I think. There were a lot of good and thoughtful questions afterwards. I felt a little tongue-tied and less polished than usual, but overall it went well. Most of the academics I work with at the Toy Factory came which was really nice of them, although it made me a little nervous. But it’s nice to feel like those two parts of my life go together. They’ve all been very supportive of my work. It was a really good session all around — a nice collection of papers and presenters who had smart and interesting things to say as well as a sense of humor.

In a conference first, a small earthquake hit in the middle of my paper session (fortunately, during the paper before mine). Apparently the conference protocol for an earthquake is to keep going as if nothing has happened. Good to know for future reference.

I had a lovely dinner with Readers guide and her husband and my friend L. Unfortunately, we forgot to take pictures.

Tomorrow it’s back to Chicago to do laundry and do it all again. Wednesday I leave for another conference, this time in Philadelphia. This one shouldn’t be quite as busy and I’m hoping I may actually get to hear some papers. Sans earthquakes, I hope.

And now it’s time to pack. More soon, once I’ve had a chance to sort it all out.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2011 11:17 am

    I didn’t even notice the earthquake! I suppose I was walking outside, or possibly (ugh) in the BART.

  2. Cranky permalink
    November 13, 2011 1:02 pm

    I hope you get some time off before Wed!

  3. November 15, 2011 8:34 am

    Glad you got to meet ReadersGuide and K in person. They are lots of fun–K likes to riff on how he’s less clever in person, and the witticisms may not come as fast, but they do come with a little wry turning down of one corner of the mouth that I don’t always get in writing.

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

