Skip to content

Via Chicago

November 13, 2011

I shared a cab to the airport this morning with an older female scholar I sometimes work with and a grad student neither of us knew. The board member insisted on paying for the grad student’s fare and I helped her do it. The grad student was extremely grateful. Although it’s a lot better than most academic fields, musicology is still predominantly male and I like it when women scholars help each other out. I work with good people.

On Tuesday, after I got through security at the airport, I stopped into the rest room. There was someone at the sink who looked like someone I used to know, but, as I had just had two enormous cups of coffee, I didn’t stop to verify. When I came out she was gone. This person used to be in my department and sang in a choir I conducted. She left after getting her masters degree and finished up her studies elsewhere. I hadn’t thought of her in years. I wondered what had happened to her.

Today, I found out. Because she was sitting in the seat in front of me on my plane home. I hadn’t seen her in fifteen years. She wasn’t at my conference. She was just in the area for a single day. It was a fluke. And here’s the weird part — she wasn’t in the airport on Tuesday. How strange is it that I run into her after fifteen years a few days after thinking of her for the first time in probably ten years? It’s making me feel a little psychic. But in any case, it was nice to catch up. She’s doing well and that is always nice to hear.

I’m home. For a couple of days anyway. Just long enough to get my laundry done and repack it. Wednesday I head to Philadelphia for round two. But for now, I have the house to myself for a couple of more hours while the boys attend a hockey game in the city. I’m watching Columbo and drinking wine. A good evening all around. Now if I can just get my brain to stop churning before bed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 11:13 am

    I like the cab story.

    Reminds me, in all the right ways, of how all of you insisted upon chipping in for pizza at this time last year. 🙂

  2. November 14, 2011 11:42 am

    I was thinking so much of your fabulous hospitality last year, lemming, that I had to come home last night and make myself some spaghetti carbonera. Not as good as yours.

  3. November 16, 2011 5:38 pm

    That is a remarkable coincidence! Hard to wrap my brain around. Very cool.

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

