Skip to content

You can get anything you want

November 23, 2011

If there’s one thing that Thanksgiving’s about — high cholesterol, family drama, and several of the deadly sins — it’s tradition. Tradition is one of the reasons I love cooking Thanksgiving dinner. There’s no anxiety about what to make. I pretty much just do what I did last year, which is what I did the year before. And the dishes I make go back at least two generations. I make my grandmother’s stuffing recipe, insofar as it is a recipe. It’s really more of a list of recommendations. But why mess with perfection?

In our family, there are two other Thanksgiving traditions. The first is this:

and the other is this:

Happy Thanksgiving, everybody. May there be plenty of toast, popcorn, pretzels and jellybeans to go around.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    November 23, 2011 5:48 pm

    I’ve never been a tradition-for-tradition’s-sake kind of person, like to shake things up when I can. But, Red decided we had to bring the Charlie Brown Thanksgiving feast with us to her grandmother’s house (we will go over a river and through the woods). This might be the tradition we stick with. Or….maybe not. Have a great holiday!!

  2. November 23, 2011 10:43 pm

    I love that song. I wonder, do I have it? Hmm. May need to hit iTunes in the am.

    Happy tradition to you.

  3. drgeek permalink
    November 27, 2011 3:26 pm

    I neglected to put Arlo on the Apple TV when we ate on Thursday. Since we’re having friends over to consume leftovers today, perhaps I will play the whole Massacree to set the mood. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

