Skip to content

It’s time for …

November 27, 2011

It’s time for the (more or less) annual Thanksgiving Index. I am alarmed to discover that this is the ninth year I’ve posted about Thanksgiving, which means that my tenth anniversary as a blogger is coming up in June.  Yikes.

It was a pretty subdued Thanksgiving for the Spy family this year.  I was still recovering (and still am) from assorted ituses.  Mrs. Spy senior was tired.  But we were all happy to be together and I was really happy to be home with a few days off. I have worked straight through the last three weekends, so to have five days off in a row was incredibly lovely. I’m now actually looking forward to heading back to New York in the morning.  Although I wish I weren’t leaving quite so early and am still trying to bring myself to set my alarm for 4:45 a.m.

But now, without further ado, here is 

The Thanksgiving Index 2011

 Number of hours spent watching parades: 3.  I know. We were gluttons for punishment this year.
• Number of hours spent watching some Godfather movie or other:  2
• Number of people eating Thanksgiving dinner: 6
• Number of horses in the pasture outside: 5
• Weight of the turkey (unstuffed): 18.7 pounds
• Weight of turkey as percentage of AJ’s weight (figured out by AJ): 23.2% 
• Number of sticks of butter used in the dinner: 3
• Number of attempts it took to get a decent batch of gravy: a triumphant 1!
• Number of containers of leftovers in the refrigerator: 11
• Ratio of pies desserts to people: 5:6
• Number of new dishes attempted: 1
• Number of new dishes that were unequivocal hits: 1
• Number of candles on display: 11
• Number of candles lit: 0 
• Number of matchbooks in the house: 0 
• Number of spilled wine glasses: 0
• Number of hours it took AJ to eat one piece of turkey: 1.5 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2011 8:11 pm

    excellent pie to people ratio!

  2. freshhell permalink
    November 28, 2011 9:44 am

    Your candle bit made me laugh. That seems to be how I operate: Camera brought to Thanksgiving meal: 1. Pictures taken: 0. Sigh.

  3. November 28, 2011 11:42 am

    Why did it take AJ an hour and a half to eat a piece of turkey? That long after he’d woken? That long that he sat at the table eating?

    We had only 4 pies to 17 people. Shocking! And I never get the leftovers.

  4. November 28, 2011 9:39 pm

    Magpie, we have our priorities straight! Freshhell, I forget some of the candles every year, but this was the first year I forgot the matches. My Kids Mom, see the aforementioned priorities. AJ does not like turkey and he can draw out the consumption of food he does not like indefinitely.

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

