Skip to content

Your Achille’s heel is a tendency to dream

December 8, 2011

Tuesday I went back to the doctor and got my third prescription for an antibiotic. Apparently, the drug of choice for those of us with the unfortunate combination of tubercular tendencies and penicillin allergies is the same drug they use to treat anthrax. I’m feeling vaguely superhuman.

On the plus side, the medicine seems to be doing something, but it makes me feel a little…weird. In an indefinable way. I just feel a little disconnected with the world. But after six weeks, I’m finally feeling a little better, so I’ll take it.

The drug comes with some alarming side effects–a predisposition to ruptured tendons, weak muscles, hallucinations and, apparently, a tendency to dream about Janet Reno. No, not THAT kind of dream. When I ran into her, she muttered under her breath, “So that’s Harriet,” in a tone I took to mean she was favorably impressed by me.

And now it is back to work for me. These photos won’t caption themselves. Today I am grateful that Janet Reno is not in any of them.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2011 6:06 pm

    Hey everybody! This is the week to try to make Harriet’s life more surreal!

  2. December 8, 2011 6:38 pm

    It’s always the side effects. I always like it when they list “death” as one.

  3. December 10, 2011 1:18 pm

    I think I’ve had that antibiotic in the past. Be careful, the ruptured tendons thing is real.

  4. drgeek permalink
    December 16, 2011 9:41 pm

    Was it Janet Reno or Will Farrell impersonating Janet Reno? Or perhaps Jean Reno impersonating Janet Reno?

Leave a Reply

