Skip to content

Thermopylae

December 14, 2011

This will be short and sweet because, well, it’s ten past midnight and I got home from work less than half an hour ago.

I was feeling horribly grumpy about my situation this morning, because this crazy workload we’re undertaking was preventable, but not by me. I was dreading the trip in this morning (I worked until 10 last night). But I headed for the subway with my headphones in and it was a perfect mix of songs. And it was a beautiful day. And so I walked all the way and felt much better by the time I arrived. We buckled down and worked hard. Near the end of the day, I ran into my boss in the bathroom and she asked how I was doing. And I ended up venting about this whole situation, at which point, she gave us an out, the option of postponing the deadline until after the holidays.. But I think knowing that there’s an alternative was all I needed. I talked it over with my coworkers, and we decided that we really just wanted to power through. And so we did. I was at the office past 11:30, but I had company. And it really wasn’t so bad. And we really are close. It’s kind of exciting. I just don’t want to be cutting corners. A couple of more long days and we should get there.

When I got back to my apartment, the super and his family and their tiny fluffy white dog were setting up a Christmas tree in the lobby, complete with lights and ornaments. It made me smile. For whatever reason, things are looking up today.

And now it’s time for bed, because in about 6 hours, I have to get up and do it all again.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 8:17 am

    Good title!

  2. December 14, 2011 5:42 pm

    She always has good titles. And I’m glad to hear you had the opportunity to vent and were offered alternatives. At least this way you have a little control over things.

Trackbacks

  1. Bells are ringing « spynotes

Leave a Reply

