Skip to content

Save the drama for your mama

January 19, 2012

There is snow coming. I went to the store for supplies and came home with 8 bottles of water, cans of beans and dried fruit. Mr. Spy came home with a case of wine. I think we know who has better survival skills.

Of course, I was the one who had to survive The Health Talk last night. It was parent orientation for the unit on “human development,” that the fifth graders will be doing over the next couple of weeks. In case you were wondering, it is only marginally less embarrassing to watch those educational videos as an adult as it was as a kid. And I don’t remember there being such an emphasis on deodorant. This may explain some of the questions AJ has been leveling at us lately. “Why do you smell bad when you’re a teenager? Why do teenagers act so crazy? Why are they so weird?” Damned if I know, kid.

AJ is playing guitar in a rock band with his friends O (on drums), T (on bass), K (on keyboards) and N, ostensibly on guitar, but he doesn’t seem to actually know how to play, so he may just stand around and look cool. They’ve been practicing together for two whole weeks now and have finally settled on a name: Emerald Five (“It’s like Maroon Five, except green”). AJ drew their logo, which consists of a number 5 with shiny jewels in the bends. They’re hoping to be ready for their first gig at the school talent show in May. They’re playing Song 2 by Blur and an AC/DC tune that I can never remember the name of, but which you’ve all heard before. It has only three chords, which is good for them. And the bagpipe part is being taken by keyboards. They are missing one thing, though: a singer. They are planning on holding auditions and AJ is busy working on flyers to hand out and post. He’s a little worried about their prospects. “Well, I don’t think any girls will want to sing with all boys, but I don’t think the boys will be as good singers.” It’s a dilemma. Are they hoping for boys or girls? “It doesn’t matter,” says AJ. “We’ll take either, as long as they’re a good singer.” Keep those ideals, boys. I can’t wait to see how this goes.

My day was much less exciting, but it was nice to sit down and work on some of the projects I’ve had to put off while The Big Project was taking over. I also found out today that I’ll be moving to a new cubicle next week. It’s not far, but it’s a bigger space and it’s next to one of the huge windows overlooking Madison Avenue (I think — I have a very poor sense of direction in the cubicle maze and I’m not entirely sure I know which cube I’ll be in) and much closer to the coffee machine. I’m looking forward to seeing daylight, but I’m a little sad to leave my staff, which is staying put. It was nice to work as a team. But they are not far away and we will still be working together. I just won’t be able to lean over the cubicle wall to ask a question. This may actually be good for our work habits, but I’m going to miss it a little too. My assistant and I had the following email exchange:

Me: Are you moving too or am I going to have to resort to sending messages in carefully engineered paper airplanes?

She: No, I’m staying put I think. But tin cans and string might work. Where are you moving to?

Me: Not far– A’s old desk. I’m pretty sure tin cans and string will work from there. But we’ll need a ladder.

She: No problem. I know a guy.

Now do you see why I like working with these people?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2012 11:09 pm

    I think Mr. Spy has the right idea here. Stock up on the things you would really miss.

  2. January 20, 2012 1:42 pm

    I think the talk about “human development” and the need for a (possibly female) singer are very compatible. At least he doesn’t mind having a girl participate.

  3. January 20, 2012 2:04 pm

    A few days ago, we were talking about The Girl Next Door’s brother’s band. They’re 14 and just one a county-wide band contest, for which they got recording studio time. AJ overheard me talking about how The Girl Next Door’s brother has an on again off again relationship with the singer and it worries his mother. Mr. Spy referred to it as a “Yoko Ono” thing. “What?” said AJ, suddenly paying attention. “You should never date the singer, it’s bad for the band.” My friend who hosts the band practices informs me that AJ brought up this piece of information when they were discussing singers. “If it’s a girl, no one goes out with her. It’s bad for the band.” And for reference, none of them are too interested in girls yet, so AJ is demonstrating some advance planning.

  4. January 20, 2012 2:53 pm

    All hail Emerald 5!! Can I get an audition? I have a demo…

    And here’s to a great work situation. It’s wonderful.

  5. January 23, 2012 12:18 pm

    Emerald 5 is great, especially since they have four in the band – it’s like Thompson Twins. My brother was in a band that had a female singer, and when they got scouted by a recording company, the problem was they just wanted her and not the rest of the band. That would be an interesting counterfactual: Successful bands with a dating/married pair. Blondie is the first one that comes to mind (Debbie Harry/Chris Stein).

    Speaking of deodorant, in 2008, I went back to my junior high school to open a time capsule that a bunch of students (including me) had put together in 1983. I talked with the present principal, and he told me that the students don’t take showers after gym any more. Part of me was thankful that shy/modest students don’t have to go through that little bit of hell anymore, but the adult in me was, like, “Ewwww!”

  6. January 23, 2012 9:06 pm

    There actually are five of them — AJ’s the fifth member. But if they hire a singer, they’ll be 6. I have to say, I’m mostly relieved to hear about the showers. Gym class was stressful enough to nerds like me without the showers.

  7. January 24, 2012 11:00 am

    Hugh – what about Culture Club? 😉

    If paper airplane are good enough for the Ministry of Magic, they should work at the toy factory.

Leave a Reply

