Skip to content

Like a smoke ring day

January 28, 2012

[I thought I posted this on Thursday, but apparently I did not.]

It’s been a week of surprises, mostly good ones. I haven’t had time to stop and think about it all.

I heard from an old friend that she would be in town and planned to see her tonight after work and attend a class she was teaching tonight. However, I managed to lock myself out of my apartment on my way to work this morning. I realized as the door was closing that I had my Illinois keys in my hand instead of my New York keys. It was one of those moments where you feel like everything is in slow motion, but not slow enough for you to stop what is happening. I stood outside the door for a few minutes wondering what to do. I emailed the friend who lets me stay here, but he’d told me he was going to be out of the country this week. I went down to the super’s door and knocked. A dog started yipping on the other side, but there was no answer. Some guys came in the front door with keys who looked like they worked there. They had the super’s phone numbers. I tried both of them, but no luck. I called Mr. Spy,, but what could he do from there? I called my host’s cell and to my surprise, he answered. It turned out that he got home last night. Phew! He said he’d leave a key with his doorman for me to pick up after work. Problem solved! But I had to miss the class and my friend.

I was now late, so I took the subway to work and amazingly got there at only 10 past 9. And I had one of those days where I felt like I got a nearly superhuman amount done, but really it’s just that people are finally calling and emailing me back about things that have been on hold waiting for others to do things. I finished packing up my desk. Tomorrow I will have a window.

After work, I took the subway I usually take to Cranky’s and hopped off in Greenwich Village. I couldn’t remember where the street was, but eventually found it and the apartment, got the keys and head home on foot. It was drizzling and dark, but somehow that added a certain glamor to the village. The dirty streets looked shiny and new. I got into my apartment, dropped off my heavy things, grabbed my set of keys and headed back to my friend’s building to drop of his keys. Instead of going straight home, I took a long, meandering wander through the side streets.

It was so nice to come in afterwards. As much as I like peering in the windows of the multi-million dollar row houses in this neighborhood, it felt good to slip the key in the lock and know just which way to turn it. I felt confident enough to finally turn in my questionnaire forms for the trip to LA. I booked our flights and the hotel, where the clerk who was helping me actually squealed when I gave her the discount code the show gave me to use. Everyone seems excited about this. I feel strangely removed from it, I think because it feels very not like me. I’m more of a behind the camera kind of girl. I like to make things happen, but I don’t want people to get too good a look at me. It’s one of the reasons why my job a the Toy Factory is so right for me. I get to be in charge of a lot of things, which I like, but I don’t have the be the public face, which I also like.

Yesterday was my six month anniversary at the Toy Factory. SIX MONTHS. It’s gone by in a heartbeat. But all of a sudden, I’m not the new girl anymore. There are newer people colonizing the desks left empty when one group of people moved upstairs. I’m moving to a slightly larger, slightly fancier workspace so someone else can take my desk. I’m feeling all nostalgic about that desk all of a sudden. It can’t possibly have been six months, can it? But I can tell how long it’s really been by looking at the tally I keep of my plane trips. Tomorrow will be my twenty-sixth. right on schedule. In the next two months I’ll be travelling not only to New York, but also Los Angeles and North Carolina. More adventures to come. And frequent flyer miles galore. I’m looking forward to it all.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 9:00 am

    I agree: being in charge =good. Being the public face=not as fun. I found that a little Harry Potter inspired satire helped with the public face part of my job last week.

  2. freshhell permalink
    January 30, 2012 10:26 am

    I was thinking that the other day – that you’d been there six months. Time flies, doesn’t it?

  3. January 30, 2012 1:22 pm

    I can’t believe you’ve been there 6 months!

Leave a Reply

