Skip to content

An open letter to the Susan G. Komen Foundation.

February 2, 2012

An open letter to the Susan G. Komen Foundation:

Abortion is a thorny issue. I have my beliefs on the matter, but I also find it easy to see the other side of things. And I honestly don’t know what to think about it all. And if you tell me you don’t want to fund abortions because you think abortion is morally wrong, I will understand. Really I will.

But don’t tell me that you, an organization at least nominally devoted to women’s health, are a Pro Life organization as you remove funding from one of the single most important health initiatives for women. You are not saving lives by removing your funding from Planned Parenthood. You are putting lives in jeopardy.

While I do acknowledge some issues like abortion are worthy of continued debate, I don’t need to debate my feelings about Planned Parenthood. Planned Parenthood gave me affordable medical care when I had little money and insurance that covered nothing. They gave me information when I didn’t have any, information that may not have saved my life but that certainly kept me safer and healthier. Planned parenthood was the only place I went for medical care for many years. Why? Because they listened. Because they gave me the message that women’s health is important, that women are important.

While Planned Parenthood is in the trenches, fighting the diatribes hurled by conservatives, they are treating women with complicated pregnancies, with cancer, with endometriosis. They are treating women who are poor, uninsured, and disenfranchised. They are treating young women who don’t know where else to turn and older women who can’t afford to go elsewhere. They are treating black women, white women, Hispanic women, Native Americans, Asian Americans and any other racial or ethnic group you can think of. They are teaching young women how to stay healthy so that they will grow up to be healthy adults. And wouldn’t you want that kind of care to be available for your daughters, your sisters, your mothers? Wouldn’t you want that kind of care to be available for you? If you were in the position of being unable to take care of your own health care needs, wouldn’t you want there to be an organization looking out for you?

Planned Parenthood is the real pro-life organization.

Planned Parenthood is pro-life, pro-health, pro-woman, pro-human. They are protective, proactive, proficient, and proven.

The Komen Foundation has a good public relations machine. They have drenched the world in pink ribbons. But in honor of breast health month, the Komen foundation has taken away medical care from women who need it as they bow to their political connections. The Komen foundation is not pro life. It’s pro profit.

Which is why the Komen will not see one more cent of my money. I’m giving my money to an organization that will invest it where it’s really needed, in health care initiatives for women without resources – which in today’s political and economic climate, is a rapidly expanding group. I’m giving my money to Planned Parenthood. And I may even tie a pink ribbon around my check, just to let them know who they can thank for my donation this year.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 9:50 am

    YEAH!

  2. Cranky permalink
    February 2, 2012 10:11 am

    Fantastic! I’m happy that this is turning into a PR nightmare for Komen.

  3. February 2, 2012 11:51 am

    Here’s another response to this that I enjoyed: http://whatever.scalzi.com/2012/02/01/ebooks-for-breast-cancer-screening-and-education/

  4. amoonshadow permalink
    February 2, 2012 12:41 pm

    Would you be okay with my reblogging this? I’m not sure what reblogging etiquette is but if you’d rather not that’s fine. You don’t need to approve the comment. Thanks.

  5. February 2, 2012 1:57 pm

    Thanks for asking. Yes, I blog under a Creative Commons License (info should be over there on the right somewhere), which in my case means, feel free to reblog as long as you credit me and preferably link back to the post. Thanks so much for your interest. This is one message I’d like to see disseminated as widely as possible.

  6. amoonshadow permalink
    February 2, 2012 5:50 pm

    Reblogged this on A MoonShadow MoonShadow and commented:
    This post by HarrietSpy sums up so well the Komen Foundation’s error in distancing itself from Planned Parenthood. Please read:https://spynotes.wordpress.com/2012/02/02/an-open-letter-to-the-susan-g-komen-foundation/

  7. February 2, 2012 9:46 pm

    Brilliant.

  8. February 3, 2012 1:31 pm

    well said.

  9. Sarah Patterson permalink
    February 5, 2012 10:30 pm

    I agree completely. I have given to the Komen Foundation for years, wear a pink ribbon, exercise in all my Race for the Cure t-shirts, but no longer. I will now double my contribution to Planned Parenthood

Trackbacks

  1. An open letter to the Susan G. Komen Foundation. « A MoonShadow MoonShadow

Leave a Reply

