Skip to content

Decaf

February 3, 2012

It is my sad duty to report the demise of the Braun coffee pot on Groundhog Day. It had a long and productive life. No one is exactly sure how old it was at the time of its death, but all agree that it was most likely at least twenty, which is a very respectable age for a coffee pot. Its life was not an easy one in its later years, when it was adopted by a household of caffeine addicts. It fought for life to the bitter end, giving up the ghost with a long his, a column of steam and a shower of sparks. We think that was its way of bidding us godspeed. There will be a period of mourning, which will no doubt involve a great deal of moaning and wailing and gnashing of teeth (which may or may not be due to the chewiness of the grounds at the bottom of our cups caused by the less talented and experienced French press). Services will be private. Well-wishers may pay their respects in the form of recommendations for a replacement coffeepot. Clearly there can be no match for the Braun, but, well, we have needs.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    February 3, 2012 9:49 am

    My condolences. I hope you have replaced it already. Because a morning without coffee is a seriously bad place to be.

  2. dinnerroll permalink
    February 3, 2012 11:08 am

    We have one of those Cuisinart ones with the built-in grinder. I’m not sure I’d recommend this particular model, as we’ve had it replaced on warranty three times now, but I’d definitely get one that grinds to order. That part is pretty neat.

  3. February 3, 2012 11:09 am

    Um…that last comment was from me….The dinnerroll account is our wordpress recipe box. Whoops.

  4. February 3, 2012 12:27 pm

    Well, at least you have grounds to acquire a new coffee maker. Something with a little less brawn and a little more brain.

  5. February 3, 2012 3:08 pm

    This one has worked very well for us: http://www.google.com/products/catalog?hl=en&q=cuisinart+coffee+maker&gs_upl=&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_cp.,cf.osb&biw=1280&bih=939&ion=1&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=9471918058089322342&sa=X&ei=Zj4sT937H6H50gGsrqXxCg&ved=0CMcBEPICMAQ

  6. February 3, 2012 3:08 pm

    Gah – sorry about the stupid long-link idiocy.

  7. February 3, 2012 6:13 pm

    My sincere condolences. I also have a Braun — just a little unglamorous thing, but it does the job.

  8. February 3, 2012 7:50 pm

    I have a little stove-top espresso pot – highly recommended for simplicity, durability and quality of resulting coffee.

  9. February 4, 2012 12:34 pm

    I’m laughing at Hugh, but my condolences to the bereft. Instead of French press, may I recommend you make cold-press coffee and warm it before drinking? It takes forethought (overnight extraction) but you lose the bitterness of hot-brewed coffee. The NYT had a recipe a few years ago that works pretty well.

  10. February 4, 2012 3:36 pm

    I lied! Mine is Krups. And it’s tiny. My brother calls it the Forever Alone coffeemaker. But I really like it. No bells, no whistles.

  11. February 4, 2012 4:03 pm

    I have one of those in my tiny NY kitchen. It makes exactly two mugs of perfect coffee and also adds to the general Alice-in-Wonderland effect of the kitchen as a whole, where everything is tiny, but the ceilings are crazy tall. I can barely reach the lowest shelf of the upper cabinets (I’m fairly tall) .I end up feeling giant and tiny at the same time.

Leave a Reply

