Skip to content

Footloose

February 13, 2012

This week has been a little more exciting than strictly necessary. Friday night’s homeward migration was supposed to go like this:

3:30 EST car service to the airport
5:00 EST flight to Chicago
7:00 CST arrival in Chicago
8:00 CST arrival home.

What actually happened was this:

3:30 EST car service to the airport
5:00 EST flight delayed two and a half hours for snow in Chicago
7:00 EST boarded plane
7:30 EST taxied to the runway
7:31 EST O’Hare levels a ground stop. We sit. And sit. Cabin crew shows a movie but I can’t find my headphones.
9:00 EST Finally take off
9:20 CDT Arrive in Chicago after a stunningly fast, completely problem free flight. It is no longer snowing. It is, however, about 8 degrees and windy. And the airport is a zoo.
10:00 CDT Finally get off the plane. Call car service. They are at the airport entrance. There in 10 minutes
10:45 CDT Car service arrives. Huge backup at the airport.
11:45 CDT finally arrive home.

Now really, I’m fairly lucky. My flight wasn’t cancelled. And this is the first time this has happened all winter. But note that for a flight that took 80 minutes, I was travelling for over 8 hours. And half of that was spent on the plane. This is important, actually, because on Saturday morning, I woke up and my right foot was enormous and extremely painful.

I acquired a couple of blisters, one on each foot, on Wednesday while stomping around in damp boots in the snow on the way home from my friend’s recital when we found all the nearby subway stations were closed. Apparently sitting around on the plane gave me an infection. I ended up in urgent care on Sunday morning where I was told that if it had been any worse, they would have sent me to the ER. Great.

The upshot is, I spent a good chunk of yesterday at urgent care with an IV in one arm while someone gave me a tetanus shot in the other arm. Now I’m on bedrest with my feet up in the air for a couple of days and will then get to hobble to the airport on Tuesday with a cane. I also can’t wear most of my shoes, which is making packing complicated. But I think I’ve found a few solutions and I’m definitely doing better, so I am hopeful to be able to step off tomorrow without an excessive hassle. I’m trying to stay calm, but it’s not easy with such a vast and tantalizing array of things to worry about.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2012 6:55 pm

    You be careful, missy. Take care of your feet.

  2. February 13, 2012 7:54 pm

    Yikes! Be careful —

  3. February 14, 2012 12:38 pm

    Wow. I did not know that could happen. Maybe this is a week to take cabs?

  4. February 14, 2012 2:56 pm

    Who knew flying was so hard on the feet. I’d have thought it would be the wings that would wear out.

  5. February 15, 2012 12:05 am

    Ouch! I’ll send fast healing thoughts your way.

Leave a Reply

