Skip to content

Mr. DeMille

February 15, 2012

We made it to L.A. Mr. Spy did encourage me to use the wheelchair in the airport, and I didn’t fight him. I felt pretty silly until I went sailing through the security line and had someone carry all my stuff from the conveyor belt to my chair. My gate was about as far as possible from the entrance, so I was glad I did it. While I was being steered through the airport, a small child fell down right next to my chair. I smiled at him as he got up and he ran back to his mom and said “She’s in a wheelchair!” and his mom said, “Yes, just like grandma.” Oy. Mr. Spy kindly said that me hobbling around with a cane reminds him of House, so that saved my ego somewhat.

The flight out was long and uneventful. We sat across the aisle from a couple who were celebrating their 63rd wedding anniversary (the stewardess announced it to the plane and everyone clapped for them). The man was on oxygen and the woman was very nervously hovering around him making sure everything went smoothly. AJ read and looked out the window. Mr. Spy worked on his book proposal. I did minimal work and watched the movie, which was the same one they showed on my flight on Friday, but this time I have headphones. And I can tell you that a movie about investment bankers looks deadly boring without any sound — it’s all grave looking white men in suits sitting around not saying much. But it was actually a pretty good movie for a plane movie, although it thought it was better than it was (Margin Call).

Tomorrow is the reason we’re out here that I can’t talk about. I am trying not to freak out (I am freaking out). But the freakout was at least postponed by a lovely afternoon eating delicious food and visiting a local farmer’s market. Here are some pictures of our afternoon.

That last picture is of the bunch of flowers Mr. Spy bought for me at the farmer’s market for Valentine’s Day.

Beyond tomorrow, we have many ideas and no plans, which is how I like it. But I’m hoping we can find some time to visit this place, which we passed today. Lass, it looks right up your alley.

And now, I must get my beauty sleep. I’ve got to be ready for my closeup at 7:30 a.m.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2012 10:13 am

    I have my fingers crossed for you!

  2. Cranky permalink
    February 15, 2012 10:28 am

    Ooh, closeup!! Can’t wait.

  3. February 15, 2012 12:04 pm

    Action!

  4. February 15, 2012 12:15 pm

    The light there is so bright and strong!

  5. February 15, 2012 1:24 pm

    And SUNNY!

  6. February 15, 2012 2:00 pm

    Remember to say please and thank-you!

  7. February 15, 2012 3:05 pm

    Oooh. I have been to that place, many years ago. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

