Skip to content

Alligator Lizards

February 16, 2012

So.

I spent the day at a TV studio as a game show contestant, something, I have to say, I never thought I would do.

There will be more about it eventually, but I’m still processing. And also, I can’t legally tell the whole story for a few months. But the day went well. And it was a fascinating look at a world I’d never seen before.

We went out to dinner afterwards and this song came on the radio:

I admit that I love this song, partly for its really brilliant and chilling deployment in an episode of Veronica Mars (Return of the Kane from Season 1, in case anyone’s interested), but mostly because the song sounds like freedom and summer to me. And there was something so perfect about hearing it while sitting in a restaurant in Venice Beach.

Right now I’m trying to decide if I’m going to go downstairs and drink at the hotel bar with fellow contestants or put on my pajamas and go to bed. I feel some sense of obligation toward the first one and would probably have fun, but I spent all day with those people and part of me wants to just turn it off. So the jury’s still out.

Mr. Spy thinks I should write an article about this. But right now my recollections of the day are still too fragmentary. I think I’ll do better with it after a little distance.

Tomorrow I go back to being a tourist. I am looking forward to seeing the ocean. It’s been far too long.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cranky permalink
    February 16, 2012 11:49 am

    I agree with Mr Spy–you would write a great article about it.

  2. February 16, 2012 1:22 pm

    check your link- it asked me to go to YouTube instead

    Glad you’re having fun. Enjoy the beach; there is nothing like the smell of the Pacific Ocean. I wish I could bottle it.

  3. February 16, 2012 1:25 pm

    You’ll just have to click through. Youtube disabled embedding for this song.

  4. February 16, 2012 1:52 pm

    looking forward to hearing this tale!

  5. February 16, 2012 2:50 pm

    Your photos are fulgent. It’s like having the lights turned on in a room that has gotten dim so gradually one hasn’t noticed.

  6. February 16, 2012 2:51 pm

    I also want to hear the tale when you’re ready to tell it.

Leave a Reply

