Skip to content

Why don’t we cross that bridge together

February 17, 2012

I’ve been trying to figure out a way to tell the story of my appearance on the gameshow — let’s call it “Peril?” — but I’d have to leave out all the interesting parts. So I’m going to write it, but hold onto it until after the air date when I can speak more freely. In the meantime, here are some tidbits:

1. The Peril? soundstage was extremely cool and we all geeked out when we got to stand up on the stage we’d looked at on TV a million times

2. Strangely, meeting the host — let’s call him “Will Ferrell,” because it amuses me — was not as bizarre as meeting the set. He seemed familiar in that TV kind of way.

3. There could be a drinking game based around the number of different ways my name was pronounced on camera.

4. It was very weird to see the body attached to the legendary announcer’s voice.

5. One could get used to having a team of experts put makeup on you. I felt glamorous. And it wasn’t at all like that cakey makeup we used to use when I did theater. Although I still have on eyeliner that I can’t seem to remove.

6. The set of Peril? is pretty much the opposite of my workplace. Peril? is loud, boisterous and full of extroverts. The Toy Factory is quiet, calm and full of introverts. I found the contrast rather exhausting, but definitely interesting to step into for a day.

7. I had a brief bonding moment with the makeup artist who asked what I did. “I’m an editor,” I said. “Oh! My daughter’s an editor too!” she replied. It took us a couple of minutes to realize our definitions were different. Her daughter is a West Coast editor (film); I am the East Coast variety (words). We are foreigners once more.

8. I had a more successful bonding moment with one of our wranglers (also the casting director who interviewed me in NY), who had a ten-year-old son too. We compared eyerolls and mouthiness but decided we both rather liked this age anyway.

9. I got to have lunch in the studio cafeteria, where we scanned for actors we knew. No sightings, alas, but Mr. Spy said he saw some Klingons in the bathroom — we were told they were filming Star Trek.

10. I totally sucked in rehearsal. I was easily the worst one there. I kept forgetting to buzz in and when I remembered, I’d forget to ask for my next question. Once I even requested the category in the form of a question. I could not have been a bigger dork.

11. At the end of the day, audience members were trying to come talk to me and the staff blocked for me like bodyguards. For a brief second, I got a glimpse of what it might be like to be someone who’s really famous. I was more than happy to return to anonymity.

12. It was wonderful to see Mr. Spy and AJ in the audience, even though AJ looked like he was falling asleep (and may well have been–he’s having trouble with the time difference).

13. I went home with some swag: a tote bag, a baseball cap (which I passed off to AJ but may steal back if he’s not wearing it), and a couple of pens. Am trying to decide whether the tote bag is suitable for schlepping groceries home from Trader Joe’s.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2012 7:48 am

    I love the brevity of that kind of bonding moment. Also, Klingons in the bathroom? That is the kind of surrealism most folks can only dream of.

  2. February 17, 2012 10:42 am

    Totally suitable for schlepping groceries. As long as you’re willing to answer the questions (in the form of answers) when people ask how you got it.

  3. February 17, 2012 10:55 am

    Of course it is. Can’t wait to hear more.

  4. February 17, 2012 2:33 pm

    Klingons in the bathroom sounds like a public health emergency.

    Also, I think you should devise many MORE reasons to use that tote bag. Need a really big lunch bag? Have to carry too many books to a meeting? Did the printer closest to you at work run out of paper? Do you need to take a few pieces of mail to the mailbox? Need to go trick or treating between your office and your apartment? Feel compelled to bring in a bunch of Easter eggs to hide at your office? I could go on. But I won’t. Tickled pink for you. Pinkety pink pink pink!

  5. Cranky permalink
    February 17, 2012 3:45 pm

    I am ridiculously excited about this. And I was wondering about the makeup, so I am happy to know that they didn’t leave you to your our devices on that one.

  6. February 18, 2012 2:23 am

    Oh, my gosh, so much has happened since I checked in just a few days ago! Welcome to California! Your experience on “Peril?” sounds nerve-wracking and exciting. I’m excited to see it when it finally airs. Very cool.

  7. February 18, 2012 7:49 am

    Grinning like a fool here 🙂 So tickled for you!

  8. February 18, 2012 11:27 pm

    Joy, thanks to you, I am now singing “Klingons in the Bathroom” to the tune of The Beat’s Mirror in the Bathroom.” I will take your totebag repurposing ideas under advisement. As to the rest, I should caution that I’m not sure if Mr. Spy would know a Klingon if it bit him in the ass (although I would hope he would), so it may have been some other alien life form.

  9. February 19, 2012 10:51 am

    You’ll let us know when to watch for you, right? I agree with Joy, you should carry that tote bag everywhere.

  10. February 21, 2012 8:06 pm

    Number 7 cracked me up. And you’ll let us know when it’s on, right?

  11. February 21, 2012 9:03 pm

    I will. It’s several months off yet. I still haven’t been able to bring myself to use the tote bag. Which is too bad, because it is a very useful size.

Trackbacks

  1. PUsh and pull | spynotes

Leave a Reply

