Skip to content

Moon shadow

February 27, 2012

I’m back in New York and it’s looking to be a comparatively relaxing week. Not only are we in between major deadlines at the Toy Factory, but lots of people are on vacation (our fiscal year ends in March and if you have too many vacation days to carry over, you have to use them before you lose them), including my boss. I only have two meetings all week and they are both short and both tomorrow. I am in real danger of getting some work done.

Getting out this morning was somewhat more exciting than I would have liked. I got up at 4 a.m. to get to the airport, but my car service failed to show up. 10 minutes after they were supposed to have picked me up and after I called the service, my driver called to say he could be there in a half an hour. Nope, not good enough. So Mr. Spy had to drive me to the airport. Poor Mr. Spy. I was glad, though, that I hadn’t waited a half an hour. The security lines at the airport were very long. On the plus side, there was a woman in front of me wearing a ballgown. Who wears a ballgown to the airport at 5:45 a.m.? And why?

I think the ballgown was what turned my day around. My plane left on time at 7 a.m Chicago time and everything else went smoothly, so smoothly, in fact, that I sat down at my desk at 9:30 a.m. Chicago time. Pretty impressive. As if to make up for the first car service, my car was waiting for me at the airport when I walked out of the door. This was slightly unfortunate, however, because I had received a message while waiting to debark the plane that the car was #54. I was kind of looking forward to what is likely to be my only chance at a legitimate reason to say, “Car 54, Where are You?”

The weather here is incredible — sunny and nearly 60. I went out to get lunch without a coat and I didn’t miss it at all. It was so beautiful, that I dragged my luggage all the way back to my apartment from Midtown, because I couldn’t bear to disappear into the dark, dank subway. There were a surprising number of other people dragging their luggage around Chelsea. What gives, fellow travellers? Where are you headed? Or are you just doing your laundry?

I got home early enough to stop at the store that sells mustaches to see if I could find some for AJ — the ones I got him for Christmas were accidentally thrown away with the Christmas wrapping. But alas, there is a high demand for fake mustaches and they are backordered. I am going to have to take my mustache business elsewhere. I also stopped at the bodega to pick up a few things for dinner and was pleased to see the bodega cat come running up to me. She’s been very standoffish, but tonight, as I walked to the back of the store to pick up some rice, she went running to her bed (a box with a cushion inside balanced on top of some cans of AJax) and allowed me to scritch her under the chin. It’s nice to have a bodega cat for a friend, and it’s nice, too, that the owner knows me now and is very kind.

In other news, remember that book chapter I wrote a gazillion months ago? Well the book is almost out and they’ve now posted the cover design, which makes it seem very real. If my experience at the toy factory is relevant, there should be copies at the conference I’m going to in a couple of weeks, which is kind of exciting.

And speaking of books, I need to go try to finish the one I’m writing all by my lonesome. If I can stay awake long enough. Tomorrow I am looking forward to NOT getting up at 4:00. Every thing after that is gravy.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2012 12:45 pm

    I have to say, you lead a life full of excitement. I left my house at 8:30, missed my bus and had to walk, saw no ball gowns anywhere.

  2. February 28, 2012 1:06 pm

    I think I’ll put “didn’t have to get up at 4 am” on my list of things to be glad about when I’m not feeling glad about much, along with “don’t have a sore throat.”

  3. IWOM permalink
    February 28, 2012 3:31 pm

    I think the question is, why NOT wear a ballgown to the airport?

  4. February 28, 2012 6:56 pm

    I think you just need to keep your camera at the ready. Really? No pictures of the ballgown?

  5. Harriet M. Welsch permalink*
    February 28, 2012 8:00 pm

    IWOM, of course you’re right. That is a much better question. My rationale: it wouldn’t fit in her suitcase. MKM, I actually had my phone handy, but I didn’t see her until she was heading into the metal detector and I was handing off my ID to the TSA. By the time I’d gotten back to a place where I could have seen her, she was gone.

  6. February 28, 2012 8:09 pm

    People drag luggage everywhere here in Boston and I finally realized it’s how they carry either their groceries or their laundry. Very odd.

Leave a Reply

