Skip to content

The boughs unbowed

March 11, 2012

The house showing have become particularly invasive this week, leading us to feel like a nomadic tribe under close scrutiny by anthropologists who really don’t understand us at all. We spent most of yesterday afternoon wandering around, having been kicked out of our house with no notice whatsoever by people who long overstayed their appointments. Probably a good sign, but aggravating nonetheless.

On the plus side, spring seems to have arrived, at least temporarily, so we were able to do some of our wandering outside. The sand hill cranes are flying over by the hundreds, wheeling low enough for us to make out the red markings on their heads. The robins are back at last. And crocuses are up and blooming a full month earlier than last year.

I spent yesterday morning at the eye doctor, as the squinting at both things close and things far has become problematic. It was a good thing I went because a), “your corneas look like they’ve been sandpapered,” said the eye doctor; and b) my prescription had taken a huge turn for the worst. After sitting at -3.25 for 20 years, I am suddenly -4.25. I blame the editing. And with that, I have crossed the line into the land of bifocals. I am feeling ancient. But I look forward to being able to see again sometime in the near future. For now, I’ve been taken off contact lenses for a couple of weeks and am stuck with my old glasses until the new ones arrive.

Today I am hoping things will be a little quieter on the home front. I am hoping to get caught up with bills and taxes and to spend some time outside where it will be, if the forecast is to be believed, a stunning 70 degrees. And while I’m not overjoyed at losing an hour today, I am looking forward to being able to take a walk after dinner without being hemmed in by darkness.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2012 5:51 am

    Ouch on the eyes, esp the sandpapered corneas. Bet your eyes were not feeling so great. I don’t know if this is your experience but my eyes, which were dry anyway, got drier as I got older. The contacts didn’t help, I’m sure.

    Won’t it be a glorious world though, when you see everything so clearly again?

    And I am still quite hopeful that your repeat, overstaying home viewers are even now working up an offer.

  2. March 12, 2012 8:53 am

    I do think the dryness, which has been a perennial problem, is getting worse. But I think this stems to my bout with conjunctivitis a couple of months ago. They’ve been bothering me since then. I am looking forward to being able to see things, but I expect there will be a bit of an adjustment period. My eyes got a full point worse — I couldn’t even read the top line of the chart with my contacts on (I do a little better in my glasses). And the bifocals will add another measure of complication. I also remember getting my first glasses in high school and being both exhilarated to see clearly but also a little sad about losing that impressionistic sense of color and shape.

  3. freshhell permalink
    March 12, 2012 3:26 pm

    My eyes get progressively worse each year and the rx has to be tweaked. Of course, I never did get around to filling last year’s. But, I go in on Wed and I swear I”ll get it done because only one eye is 100% and it’s annoying.

    Best of luck with the house. Hope you get a contract signed soon and can add all kinds of new to-dos to your list. Positive stuff but still. Things To Do never diminish, they only grow.

Trackbacks

  1. Smithies on Spring « Association of Smith College Alum Blogs

Leave a Reply

