Skip to content

Can’t you just feel the moonshine

March 16, 2012

I am in sunny North Carolina at my favorite conference of the year. The weather is summery. The hotel is lovely — my room is enormous and includes a king size bed, two armchairs around a small dining table, an ottoman and a huge desk under a giant flat screen TV. If it had a kitchen and bookshelves, it would make a completely livable studio apartment. It’s also really quiet and I don’t have any qualms about practicing mando in my room. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby and lots of little plazas with trees and tables with umbrellas for sitting and working or eating or talking in the great outdoors. The conference itself fed me both breakfast and lunch today and gave me a concert and lots of interesting things to think about. I’ve had enough meetings to feel like I’m doing my job, but I’ve been able to get to enough papers to feed my head. Best of all, the book for which I wrote a chapter has made its first appearance here. And yes, I took pictures of it. Because I am a total dork.

Yesterday evening I had dinner with a longtime imaginary friend (her current online incarnation is here), who gave a presentation here yesterday. It was lovely to finally meet the person behind the words and we found we have a lot to talk about.

I had breakfast this morning with the chief toymaker of my particular toy, which ended up being a bit of a mentoring session for me. I feel very lucky to work with people who are concerned about my career. It’s easy to forget about my own research when I’m in the office. It’s good to be reminded that it matters too.

Today’s highlight was a panel discussion devoted to music by black composers. This man was particularly engaging. His music was wonderful, but he was also a passionate and hilarious speaker, one of those vibrant personalities who makes you feel like you’d follow him to the end of the earth if he asked. The panel was followed by a performance of his music and that of another composer. The singer and her pianist were wonderful (the violinist not so much).

Today I am enjoying a little quiet time, as this particular conference always takes a break on Friday afternoon, which I never seem to remember. I repaired to my room to get caught up on some work things, so I won’t be in a state of abject panic on Monday morning. A little quiet before working the Toy Factory’s reception this evening is a good thing. A little mando playing, a little writing, a cup of coffee, and I feel almost human.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2012 6:48 pm

    This conference sounds like heaven. Also, I went to the blog you linked to, one I have never seen before, to find that she links to Writing as Jo(e), who I’ve been reading for years. What a funny, small and circular place blogland is.

  2. March 16, 2012 8:41 pm

    I love it when that happens!

  3. March 17, 2012 3:27 pm

    Did you find a pickup group for your mandolin? I love that that’s a possibility for conferences in your line of work. I have not yet run into a science-ing convention with pickup anything. Drinking, I guess.

    DJ and I finished your almond cake yesterday. Still delicious, thank you again!

  4. March 17, 2012 7:03 pm

    It’s one of my favorite things about my conferences too, and this one in particular. This one also usually has a dance workshop, which I always sign up for (last year it was the Lindy Hop; the year before it was some kind of dancing from Ghana — I no longer remember what it was called). But they didn’t seem to have that this year. Sadly, I missed the pickup band! I somehow didn’t see it in the schedule and thought they weren’t doing it this year. I didn’t notice it until it was over. Probably just as well. I’m not very good at picking tunes up on the fly yet. It’s something to work toward for next year. But it’s been nice having an instrument along just the same. I’m glad you liked the cake. I may make it again for Easter.

  5. Jeannette permalink
    March 23, 2012 2:44 pm

    Finally catching up a bit. 🙂

    That would explain the spike in blog traffic. lol.
    It’s a new blog that I haven’t been touting, bc I don’t necessarily want to open it up to aunts and high school friends for comment. ha! I’m sure you know what I mean, but it does mean it’s a bit crickets chirping on the new blog. Thanks for the link. 🙂

    So nice to catch up with you in REAL LIFE!!! Hope this is the beginning of a future of conference sightings. 🙂

Leave a Reply

