Skip to content

Come on up to the house

March 21, 2012

Suddenly, everything feels like home. Stopping just outside the door of my office building to talk to a coworker leaving on vacation, walking down Madison Avenue, where even the stains on the sidewalk are starting to look familiar. This is both good and bad. I am not so much in the mode of noticing things, not like I used to be when I first came.

It is warm here, but not as warm as it is in Chicago. I have turned on the fan. They have turned on the air conditioner. I still wear a jacket to work and home again. They are sweating in shorts. Tomorrow it is supposed to cool off. Tomorrow, when I get home, it is supposed to be nearly 80.

I had a big presentation at work today. I had to talk for 90 minutes about what I do in front of about 30 of my colleagues in a meeting run by the head of my department — my boss’ boss. I made a powerpoint and everything. I think it went okay, although I ran way over in the talking part and didn’t get to the discussion part. But that seemed to be okay. Several people stopped my desk and thanked me later. But I haven’t heard from my boss’ boss and am slightly worried I messed it up. Next up — a big writing project due Monday and about 90 bazillion meetings before I sprint to the airport and pray the traffic is light and the lines are short so I don’t miss my plane.

In the tiny triangle of a park I pass on my way to the subway, the magnolias are blooming. I noticed this morning because there was a crushed pink leaf on the sidewalk. And then I remembered to look and there they were. On the way home this evening, they were surrounded by women taking pictures of them with there cell phones.

It feels funny to be packing on a Wednesday. But it also feels like I’ve been gone forever.

This weekend, AJ turns 11. Our house gets inspected. And I need to start doing the taxes, which are likely to be complicated, what with having to file in two states (it’s going to be worse next year when I have to file in three, on account of Peril?, and, depending on where we end up moving, potentially four). It all sounds stressful. There will need to be wine.

I am glad to have my mandolin this week. I’ve practiced every day and it is keeping me sane. I’ve acquired a double-edged groove on the left side of the nail of my middle finger where the strings hit when I slide back for an E-flat. It may be worth the $50 it costs me to check my bag to have it along on these trips. I considered leaving it here, but I can’t quite bring myself to leave it behind.

Mr. Spy has announced that this weekend we will have fun. We will enjoy AJ’s birthday. On Saturday night, when they go to the Bulls game, I will work on the taxes while watching videos and drinking wine on my basement floor. Or maybe I will find someone to meet for dinner. After a week on the road, a night at home alone has suddenly lost its luster.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2012 6:12 am

    Happy Birthday AJ! Must mean my eldest has similar intentions coming up soon

    I believe the reason Girl Scout cookies are delivered this time of year is to ease the burden of tax filing. The mint ones aren’t bad with a glass of red. I think I’d try a Reisling with Trefoils– or even sweeter.

  2. March 22, 2012 11:34 am

    I would meet you for dinner! Harper can hang out with DJ.

    So the offer on the house got better? That’s good, and good timing for AJ not moving mid-schoolyear.

  3. March 22, 2012 12:18 pm

    Let’s do it, Julia! I am heading for the plane, but will email you tomorrow!

  4. March 23, 2012 8:40 am

    Required fun. Mandatory fun.

    Just keep remembering to notice the flowers and the birdsong.

    You are amazing, you know…

  5. March 24, 2012 12:18 pm

    Enjoy the birthday weekend! I am looking forward to cake; I’m sure someone will make one for the birthday we have on Monday while I am out of town! (yeah, right)

  6. Jeannette permalink
    March 24, 2012 2:58 pm

    Definitely, have fun! Relax! And enjoy that boy of yours. ❤ Eleven. wow.

    And hooray for mandolins and magnolias. Hope you feel more refreshed when you walk under them again.

Leave a Reply

